Thread: FTB: Iridium
View Single Post
Old 19th January 2013, 08:42 PM   #111 (permalink)
Obsi
Elite - Post: 4026

Cheeky

Quote:
I'm new to all this but I suggest the server admins factor in human nature when planning the future. You can make a rule that all machines need to be off. That doesn't mean that will happen. You can say no running water in quarries. That doesn't make it so. You ask people to have one quarry only and to cover it when finished. That doesn't mean it will happen. You have to assume people won't read/respect the rules and then you have to consider that impact on the server in a worst case scenario.
We realise that things happen - people might get disconnected and not be able to turn off their machines, people forget etc. We're not monsters :P

However, if we make a rule that machines have to be turned off when you leave the server, and everyone tries to do that - we're going to have most (if not all) machines turned off when people aren't on the server. Making it better for all players (lag wise) If we don't make that rule, most people won't bother turning off their machines when they leave.

Ultimately the way we set up the city has meant that these things have far more impact than they would had we not organised the city the way we did. That's unfortunate and unexpected. We are however looking at a way to help address this without losing all the work people have already done.

If we update to a later version of minecraft and try out MindCrack, this might also decrease the performance issues we've been having too. But we'll have to see as we go.