Go Back   The Older Gamers Forums > TOG Public Forums > The Barracks

The Barracks Potential new members need to post here!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 13th March 2006, 03:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Mostly Harmless - Post: 78

Default Potential new member... Blackadder

Hey guys,

My name's Rob. I'm a Sydneysider. I'm 30. I'm an IT journalist "in real life".

Wow, I don't normally write in such tiny sentences, but I guess it gets across the main things you need to know "at a glance" if you want to stop reading here.

--

OK, so for those of you who have read on... I'm here because I stumbled across a copy of Battlefield 1942 at the weekend for $15 and, unlike most of Western civilisation, had yet to actually play the game. I'd kind of got worn out on Call of Duty and Return to Castle Wolfenstein "back in the day" and never really bothered with BF1942 because it just seemed like more of the same. Wow, was I wrong!

I took the game home, patched it, and spent the next 4 or 5 hours playing on GameArena (neat that anyone can use GameArena, too, considering I'm an Ozemail/iiNet user), with some decent gamers. And, no, before you jump to conclusions, they weren't TOG members... they were just decent gamers who, I suspect, would have been pretty mature guys.

So, today, I started doing some research on Wikipedia, and other sources, learning about the mods that are out there, the add ons, the 'sequels' like Vietnam and Battlefield 2 and all that good stuff. I concluded that the next logical move would be to find a clan, preferably with an Aussie base, or a lot of Aussie members, and started to look around.

I probably looked at about 4 or 5 different clans before, basically accidentally, finding TOG. I did some looking around, some reading, and concluded that this could be a really great place to hook up with people and do some gaming.