Old 30th August 2011, 08:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Retired Captain
Lethal - Post: 5868 TOG Silver Level Supporter
 Jakob_Pavlov's Avatar

Tired
Default PAX Video Interview with DICE BF3 Producer

Quote:
Originally Posted by www.geforce.com
GeForce.com’s Kris Rey and DICE Producer Patrick Liu sat down in the gameplay area for a chat about all things Battlefield 3. Getting straight down to business, Patrick spoke of Frostbite 2, the engine powering Battlefield 3’s fantastic visuals: “We added a ton of stuff – we basically rewrote the rendering engine from scratch to add real-time radiosity on the PC… it produces amazing indoor lighting… for the scale of the maps we implemented new streaming technology, so we make bigger maps than we have ever been able to before.”
Continuing with the tech, Kris quizzed Patrick about one of our favourite topics, DirectX 11. In addition to using effects such as displacement mapping Patrick told us that Battlefield 3 will use Compute Shaders to improve the quality and effectiveness of the engine, and with regards to tessellation, which is “doing great on NVIDIA cards,” the DICE Producer simply says, “tessellation is so sexy!”
Kris then attempts to retrieve system spec information from Patrick, but as loose lips sink ships, and ruin PR plans, Patrick stays mum, though he is happy to say, “you’ll definitely be safe with dual [NVIDIA GTX] 580s in SLI.”

Link to the post: Articles: Interview: DICE Talks About How Battlefield 3 Uses DirectX 11 - GeForce


Video:
__________________

"Jakob_Pavlov is a known issue and will be dealt with in the next patch." - bigtabs
Jakob_Pavlov is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 30th August 2011, 10:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Dangerous - Post: 934
 Dragonhammer's Avatar

Mellow
Default

So you need two graphics card for a measely sum of €1000 to run the damn thing on full detail.
add to that the Power consumption of 700Watt nonstop while gaming will have your power bill go thru the roof.
The power company will alert the local police because with that power usage they suspect you are running a weed farm on your attic.
__________________
Dragonhammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2011, 10:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 2113
 Inglorious Nub's Avatar

Relaxed
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonhammer View Post
The power company will alert the local police because with that power usage they suspect you are running a weed farm on your attic.
Wait, I can mod my dual 580 to produce a weed farm? Will this require a bigger case?

At least a weed farm will get me carbon tax credit to offset electric bill.
__________________
No Eternal reward will forgive us now for wasting the dawn

Last edited by Inglorious Nub; 30th August 2011 at 10:59 AM.
Inglorious Nub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2011, 01:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lethal - Post: 7498
 Purg's Avatar

Paranoid
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonhammer View Post
So you need two graphics card for a measely sum of €1000 to run the damn thing on full detail.
You say that like it's a bad thing.

The game will have graphical legs. I'm sure my two 570's will deal with it OK. If I'm going to be playing this for a couple of years, I don't want the graphics engine to be outdated before it's even released. I tried to play BF2 a couple of months ago when it was on special on Steam. I don't recall it looking so ugly.

This time next year, I'm sure there will be an affordable video card that'll chew up and spit out BF3.
Purg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2011, 03:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Squad Officer
Left 4 Dead
Lethal - Post: 7441
 Drac's Avatar

Yeehaw
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonhammer View Post
The power company will alert the local police because with that power usage they suspect you are running a weed farm on your attic.
OMGWTFBBQHAX don't say that!

You're going to make me all paranoid. And stay out of my attic!!!
__________________
.
. . . .
.

Last edited by Drac; 30th August 2011 at 03:50 PM.
Drac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2011, 05:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grim Monkey
Master
DC Planetside 2
Ace - Post: 8053
 Shrubbo's Avatar

Doh
Default

Heh, I want 3d on triple monitors but I don't think there is hardware available that will run that maxed with great frames .......

I'll work something out, game must look awesome
__________________

Shrubbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2011, 06:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired Administrator
Retired Administrator
Guru - Post: 12265
 Spectre8's Avatar

Default

If you want max details on a 27 inch monitor, it'll take some work. But I'm guessing to run the game on "normal" settings, it'll work on a "normal" computer.
Spectre8 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2011, 07:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 2113
 Inglorious Nub's Avatar

Relaxed
Default

I play on low settings always, but that is comp style. Miss my eyecandy.
__________________
No Eternal reward will forgive us now for wasting the dawn
Inglorious Nub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2011, 08:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 2470
 koopz's Avatar

Breezy
Default

loving these interviews

__________________
koopz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2011, 09:39 AM   #10 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Retired Captain
Elite - Post: 3481
 Rob.'s Avatar

Sad
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrubbo View Post

I'll work something out, game must look awesome
Yep can't wait to see it maxed out
__________________

Rob. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +11. The time now is 08:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0