Go Back   The Older Gamers Forums > TOG Public Forums > Digital Distribution & Game Applications

Digital Distribution & Game Applications Games distributed via On-Line Stores

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12th July 2010, 12:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lethal - Post: 5501
 King_Rocket's Avatar

Pensive
Default New GameArena Steam Content Servers? No...

Edit: I may have been tricked.

Steam Network Status indicates 5 GA servers but is dated September 18 2006 and Steam: Game and Player Statistics report the standard two.

Quote:
GameArena now host 5 steam content servers over the old 2 (Edit the news seem to be "filtered" so they will only be reachable by Bigpond customers, good news for some of us bad news for everyone else I guess.)

Steam Network Status

Maybe the reason that the files section that was over at bigpond was discontinued (grrr) was to free up servers for this update.

Anyone got the ips for these new servers?
__________________

"If a job's worth doing, no further justification is required." - Alice: Madness Returns
"It takes just as much work to achieve failure as it does to achieve success."

Last edited by King_Rocket; 12th July 2010 at 06:23 AM.
King_Rocket is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12th July 2010, 05:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Squad Officer
Left 4 Dead
Lethal - Post: 7441
 Drac's Avatar

Yeehaw
Default

I wish more ISPs would do this. Steam has massive bandwidth demands and hosting content servers for users on your own network ought to be cheap. It's just a file server. If it prevents just a dozen customers being annoyed that they have to decide between browsing youtube or downloading a game that month then it's probably paid it's worth in building customer loyalty.
__________________
.
. . . .
.
Drac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2010, 08:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Retired Captain
Lethal - Post: 5239
 Jigoku's Avatar

Tired
Default

The five GA servers existed "back in the day" when they were using 32-bit servers. Due to limitations they could only host 2GB of content on each server. They have now switched to 64-bit servers, where, assuming they provide enough hard drive space, each server could host ALL the content available on Steam.
Jigoku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2010, 07:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Elite - Post: 3871
 Bikkies's Avatar

Scared
Default

What is the total file size of the game catalog Steam has?
__________________

Bikkies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2010, 07:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Division Captain
Team Fortress 2
Lethal - Post: 6046
 Mixa...'s Avatar

Sleepy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bikkies View Post
What is the total file size of the game catalog Steam has?
I believe the technical term is HUGE
__________________
Mixa... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2010, 10:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 1251

Amused
Default

Well I found at least 5,000 application ids in steam, so if they averaged just 2Gb per game, that comes in at 10,000 Gb for starters.
MadMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2010, 11:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Retired Captain
Lethal - Post: 5239
 Jigoku's Avatar

Tired
Default

A 64 bit server can provide 8 Exabytes of content =p
Jigoku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2010, 03:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Elite - Post: 3619
 Unknown's Avatar

Default

Though it very much depends on storage technology used (file system, etc.) as some have limits below 8 EB (depending on the implementation/circumstances).
__________________
"I am a busy man and I can't be bothered to punch you at the moment. Here's my fist. Kindly run towards it as fast as you can."
- Blackadder: The Cavalier Years
Unknown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2010, 02:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Squad Officer
Left 4 Dead
Lethal - Post: 7441
 Drac's Avatar

Yeehaw
Default

I'm confused. Why is everyone talking about server space limits, since when did networks have a size limit?
__________________
.
. . . .
.
Drac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2010, 03:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Elite - Post: 3619
 Unknown's Avatar

Default

"Networks" != "Servers" - the discussion's a minor tangent from the whole GA Steam content server query

(If you want to get technical, networks do have a size limit - just ask customers with smaller ISPs who over-commit their network capacity.)
__________________
"I am a busy man and I can't be bothered to punch you at the moment. Here's my fist. Kindly run towards it as fast as you can."
- Blackadder: The Cavalier Years
Unknown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +11. The time now is 01:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0