Go Back   The Older Gamers Forums > TOG Public Forums > Digital Distribution & Game Applications

Digital Distribution & Game Applications Games distributed via On-Line Stores

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 29th August 2010, 06:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 1016

Question A few questions about Steam

I am really new to Steam (Only downloaded it last Wednesday), and like the title says, I have a few questions about Steam and I was hoping someone could help. Any help would be appreciated.
Anyway... Ive been reading on these forums about a programme called Steamwatch. Do I just download and run it and it than only downloads through Bigpond or is there another programe I should run aswell? See I am with Bigpond and some games will really hurt my usage cap.
And question number 3. My father inlaw just brought two retail CD games but didn't realise he needed Steam. Is there a way I could download them for him and burn the files to a DVD and put them on his computer. See he installed Steam and created an account, but when he went to install the games his net dropped out. Now he cant install from the CD's as Steam is trying to download the entire games, and he is on dial up speeds and is prepaid to boot.
Once again, if anyone could help I would appreciate it.

DougB is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 29th August 2010, 07:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lethal - Post: 5501

Pensive

Quote:
Originally Posted by DougB View Post
Ive been reading on these forums about a programme called Steamwatch. Do I just download and run it and it than only downloads through Bigpond or is there another program I should run aswell? See I am with Bigpond and some games will really hurt my usage cap.
Steamwatch is Ok. I prefer to use Frey's Steam filter myself as sometimes steamwatch can fail.