Division Latest

STO Turns Two

Next Feature Episode series is announced!

Star Trek Online is going Free to play!

Take a Free Trek into Stars!

Battlefield 3: Back to Karkand DLC

Battlefield 3 Back to Karkand DLC is out now!

Guild Wars: Winds of Change

Change is coming to Cantha


Go Back   The Older Gamers Forums > TOG Public Forums > Digital Distribution

Digital Distribution Games distributed via On-Line Stores

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 31st January 2010, 01:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Div. Vice Captain
Team Fortress 2
Elite - Post: 3419
 Non Action Man's Avatar

Pensive
Default possible Steam account threat

DO NOT CLICK THIS LINK

Had a message from a friend in steam chat today with this in it:
Quote:
"http://steamcommunity_com_viewprofile45123658969.9hz.com/"
LOOOOOOOOOL OMG WTF IS THAT??!?!
DO NOT CLICK THIS LINK

for some reason i can't get the the remove link thingy to work!

The message is apparently sent out automatically via a virus, but I am not sure if this is correct. The sender goes immediately off line too.

The page most likey a phishing site, as the URL looks dodgy, it has underscores where there should be full-stops.


NAM
__________________

"I am a Pantera's box you do not want to open" - Mr. Furious

Last edited by Ned; 31st January 2010 at 01:55 PM. Reason: disabled link
Non Action Man is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 31st January 2010, 01:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ned
Public Forum Coordinator
Guru - Post: 11406
 Ned's Avatar

Default

Thanks for the info NAM.

I disabled the link for you.
(click edit on your post to see how it's done)
Ned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 04:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Competent - Post: 294
 fallen_dragon's Avatar

Amazed
Default

i clicked that link!!!

just took me to the a steam 'community' portal, which i closed. then I deleted the person off my friends list.

(i'm assuming i would only need to be worried if i'd tried to log into that fake site?)
__________________
fallen_dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 04:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Competent - Post: 309
 Flibbs's Avatar

Mellow
Default

As well as being a phishing site, the web page may also be designed to take advantage of unpatched exploits in browsers and download malware. If your browser is up todate with it's patches then you have nothing to worry about.
Flibbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 04:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 2067

Lurking
Default

Seems it has been found out, or it doesn't work that well in lynx ;o)

Code:
Forbidden

   You don't have permission to access / on this server.
__________________
Late at night, not a creature was stirring, not even the mouse, who a little earlier found the Rat Trap across the neck made his head fall off.

postcount=++
SnakeTails is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 05:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 1919
 Firebrand's Avatar

Default

I got a warning from a user not to click the link she "sent".

Totally appreciated the headsup
__________________

I just want the Hat!
Firebrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 05:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Div. Vice Captain
Team Fortress 2
Elite - Post: 3419
 Non Action Man's Avatar

Pensive
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fallen_dragon View Post
i clicked that link!!!

just took me to the a steam 'community' portal, which i closed. then I deleted the person off my friends list.

(i'm assuming i would only need to be worried if i'd tried to log into that fake site?)
it looks just like the steam login page dones't it!
__________________

"I am a Pantera's box you do not want to open" - Mr. Furious
Non Action Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 06:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Dangerous - Post: 912

Stressed
Default

I got that link from someone too.

Simply closed the window.

A short while later I got a message from same person saying if I went to that link to immediately change my password.

Simple rule of thumb: Never post links in chat thingies and never click on links in chat thingies.
MadMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 06:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Elite - Post: 3108
 Monde's Avatar

Cool
Default

Thanks for the warning.
__________________


"Just give me the coffee and no one gets hurt."
Monde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 11:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 1870

Asleep
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flibbs View Post
As well as being a phishing site, the web page may also be designed to take advantage of unpatched exploits in browsers and download malware. If your browser is up todate with it's patches then you have nothing to worry about.
Correction, less to worry about.

NEVER click links without first looking at the URL. That one is clearly dodgy.
__________________
Pen < Brush > Sword
Mighty Brush is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +11. The time now is 10:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0