Go Back   The Older Gamers Forums > TOG Public Forums > MMORPG Games: The Realms > Free to grind

Free to grind Discuss Free MMO's here.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11th May 2013, 03:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Competent - Post: 483

Happy
Default EQmac's Al'Kabor. A server trapped in time

I have been playing on Al'Kabor (EQmac only server) for a few months now and I must say I'm really having the same blast there than I had when I first played EQ a bit more than 10 years ago.
The server has a very nice small friendly population that are using a general chat channel /alliance to communicate server wide.
Majority of the players are in their 30s and it seems that about 60% are from the US, 25% from Europe and 15% from Oceania/Asia from what I have seen.
If you feel like stepping back in time and reliving your first EQ experience, please consider joining that server. You don't even need a MAC to play it as it seems some players found a way to make it work on PC.

FAQ

What is EQMac?

EQMac's Al`Kabor server is trapped in time. It's final patch is from late 2002. It has all the original zones and most of the original models from EverQuest Vanilla through the Planes of Power expansion. Except for a few rare updates it is exactly how it was back in late 2002.

How much does EQMac cost to play?

Nothing! Account activation is free, and the subscription fee has been removed as of February 14th, 2012.

Is EQMac an emulator?
No, it's a live SOE server. It functions very well, and is more functional than traditional "emulated" classic servers. Additionally, most EverQuest emulators force you to use the Trilogy client or later. This allows you to use the classic client from the early days of the game.

Do I need to have a MAC to play the game?
Easiest way is to play on an Intel MAC of course, but a quick search on google will give you a few threads and ways on 'how to play EQmac on PC'.

USEFUL LINKS

Patch & Log in
This is where you start the game

EQmac Forums