Old 8th March 2010, 10:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Competent - Post: 342
 maggot_bag's Avatar

Dead
Default back-up in prepparation for hdd upgrade.

got a 320G samsung hdd for the PS3. was about to install when someone told me i would need to back-up some stuff from the system. then reinstall to the new hdd. he said do it with an external hdd.

for me that advice breeds more questions than answers.

thought all i needed to back-up were game-saves? apparently, some other things must be transfered aswell

so i look into it a bit & discover, that an external hdd can even back-up my psn messages; some of which, i really want to keep. so now i plan to get one anyway.

as for what needs backing-up, & what doesn't; i'm still completely clueless.

any advice you guys can give on all this would be most welcome
__________________

PSN: sellfcon

Last edited by maggot_bag; 9th March 2010 at 09:56 AM.
maggot_bag is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 8th March 2010, 11:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Division Captain
Destiny & Consoles
Ace - Post: 9327
 Ancient_One's Avatar

Breezy
Default

The backup will do all of your hard drive mate. You can't pick and choose.

Before you start, download the latest firmware on your computer and place it on a USB flash drive. You will need this to setup your new formatted HD. Firmware Download

Correct setup of the USB flash drive. Details here. Flash Drive create a folder called PS3 inside that create a folder called UPDATE. Place the downloaded firmware inside UPDATE.

The second thing is to sync your trophies with PSN. Trophies are not backed up on the PS3.
Once that is done I would log out of PSN.

Connect the external HD to the PS3 and create the backup.

Depending on size this could take some time. Allow for a 200GB HD a period no less then 4 - 6hrs. If you can bare it I would delete anything you don't want backed up.
Demo games, game and movie trailers, etc.
The smaller the size the quicker the backup and restore later.

This video is pretty good at showing you how to remove the HD.

Video: Another look at PS3 Slim and its removable HDD

Just remember the screws can be a little tight but they will budge with enough applied pressure. Just don't slip otherwise you might strip the inside of the screws which would stop you from being able to remove them unless you drill the screws out.

Some written details on the subject of removing the HD on ehow.

Remember take your time plan it out and nothing will go wrong.
__________________

Last edited by Ancient_One; 8th March 2010 at 11:05 PM.
Ancient_One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2010, 10:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Competent - Post: 342
 maggot_bag's Avatar

Dead
Default

thanks A_1 for your help.
is there any special setup required for the external hdd aswell?

if possible, i will back-up both the PS3 & the a PC on the same hdd.

dick smiths had a 1TB WD external hdd for $140. that should be ample disc space for both.
__________________

PSN: sellfcon
maggot_bag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2010, 11:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Elite - Post: 2633
 Cadder's Avatar

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maggot_bag View Post
thanks A_1 for your help.
is there any special setup required for the external hdd aswell?

if possible, i will back-up both the PS3 & the a PC on the same hdd.

dick smiths had a 1TB WD external hdd for $140. that should be ample disc space for both.
JB Hifi Have an external (USB) Seagate 1tb drive for $129. I just bought one on the weekend. They also have a 1.5Tb model.

Before you use any external HDD on a Playstation3, you will have to format it to FAT32. Usually, they come formatted as NTFS out of the box. If you can't format it, goto download.com and download swissknife.

Once that is done, you can use it on your PS3 and it will still work as it did on your PC.
__________________
Cad nominatim, CAD per professio, cad per vis.
(Click the .sig for my PSN portable ID)
Cadder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2010, 04:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Division Captain
Destiny & Consoles
Ace - Post: 9327
 Ancient_One's Avatar

Breezy
Default

What Cadder said. You need a Fat32 formatted external HD.
__________________
Ancient_One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2010, 04:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Retired Captain
Deadly - Post: 2187
 George's Avatar

Fine
Default

Well, i'm going to have to upgrade my HDD. My PS3 keeps telling me i've got less than 500Mb which is really getting on my nerves. Also yesterday it also told me it wouldn't update the what's new bit as there wasn't enough room to store the info.
__________________

George is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2010, 05:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Competent - Post: 342
 maggot_bag's Avatar

Dead
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadder View Post
JB Hifi Have an external (USB) Seagate 1tb drive for $129. I just bought one on the weekend.
.
have u given it a good test run yet?
__________________

PSN: sellfcon
maggot_bag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2010, 06:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Elite - Post: 2633
 Cadder's Avatar

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maggot_bag View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadder View Post
JB Hifi Have an external (USB) Seagate 1tb drive for $129. I just bought one on the weekend. They also have a 1.5Tb model.
have u given it a good test run yet?
Yep. it works well. In fact, the kids have been watching movies on the PS3 that are stored on the HDD today.
Works well.
__________________
Cad nominatim, CAD per professio, cad per vis.
(Click the .sig for my PSN portable ID)
Cadder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +11. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0