Old 28th April 2010, 07:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 1463
 click's Avatar

Goofy
Default

I am so jealous
__________________

PC - TOG|Click PS3-PSN - clickaus Guild Wars 2 - clickaus.9170
click is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 28th April 2010, 07:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 1463
 click's Avatar

Goofy
Default

Cadder where did you order it from. Can you send me the site. If you give the unit the ok I might think about getting one myself
__________________

PC - TOG|Click PS3-PSN - clickaus Guild Wars 2 - clickaus.9170
click is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2010, 10:05 PM   #13 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Elite - Post: 2540
 Cadder's Avatar

Default

Click, I bought it online direct from the manufacturer and paid in USD via Paypal. It was substantially cheaper to do that than get it through the Aussie distributor - and since it was shipped out of Singapore (the co. is US based), it was here in less than a week.

Follow the linky above and click the "buy now" button. UPS freight is $51USD and the unit itself is $199USD.
I'll let you know how well it works when I get it hooked up
__________________
Cad nominatim, CAD per professio, cad per vis.
(Click the .sig for my PSN portable ID)
Cadder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2010, 10:19 PM   #14 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Retired Captain
Elite - Post: 4298
 Pure Mongrel's Avatar

Goofy
Default

Couple of questions:

Does it have to be connected to a PC - Can you connect a USB HD instead to save the files?
Do you know if the IR Blaster works with FOXTEL HD?
__________________
Pure Mongrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2010, 12:28 AM   #15 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Elite - Post: 2540
 Cadder's Avatar

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pure Mongrel View Post
Does it have to be connected to a PC - Can you connect a USB HD instead to save the files?
Yes. Don't think of it as a DVR. Think of it more as a PC capture card - except it's a box plugged into the USB instead of being an internal card.
Therefore you can use whatever drives (internal OR external) that your PC can access. Including a DVD/Blu-ray burner if you have one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pure Mongrel View Post
Do you know if the IR Blaster works with FOXTEL HD?
Wouldn't have a clue, but I should imagine so. The Cadder household is Foxtelless.
__________________
Cad nominatim, CAD per professio, cad per vis.
(Click the .sig for my PSN portable ID)
Cadder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2010, 12:28 PM   #16 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Elite - Post: 2540
 Cadder's Avatar

Default


Hey, hey, HEY!!!

Rabies and germs, I present to you....
My first HD Cap from my PS3, in all its Wide-screen Hi-Def You-Tube glory.


Recorded at 1080i. Converted to 720 for Pootube.
__________________
Cad nominatim, CAD per professio, cad per vis.
(Click the .sig for my PSN portable ID)
Cadder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2010, 04:43 PM   #17 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Retired Captain
Elite - Post: 4298
 Pure Mongrel's Avatar

Goofy
Default

How many devices can you plug into this unit at once? Multiple consoles? Pay TV? Tivo?

And I like that you are awarding your own posts ... nice touch
__________________
Pure Mongrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2010, 05:29 PM   #18 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Elite - Post: 2540
 Cadder's Avatar

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pure Mongrel View Post
How many devices can you plug into this unit at once? Multiple consoles? Pay TV? Tivo?
Only one at a time, but yes, theoretically, you can capture from all of those devices.
As long as they have either a component or composite output, the HD PVR will accept it as a source. The software has a number of different known compression formats to analyse the signal coming in; with default settings already set up for recording PS3, X360 and. (something else, I can't remember what). With the pay TV/Tivo, it has an IR blaster built-in to simulate a remote so you can set it to turn on your Foxtel box and start recording the output from it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pure Mongrel View Post
And I like that you are awarding your own posts ... nice touch
heheh.. I was feeling a little chuffed.
__________________
Cad nominatim, CAD per professio, cad per vis.
(Click the .sig for my PSN portable ID)
Cadder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2010, 06:49 PM   #19 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Retired Captain
Elite - Post: 4298
 Pure Mongrel's Avatar

Goofy
Default

Hope you have had heaps of practice mate as we have just been issued a challenge by HQ. They want a 3 to 5min video on our Division.

Hmm .... how are we going to do XBOX footage?
__________________
Pure Mongrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2010, 11:20 AM   #20 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Elite - Post: 2540
 Cadder's Avatar

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pure Mongrel View Post
Hope you have had heaps of practice mate as we have just been issued a challenge by HQ. They want a 3 to 5min video on our Division.

Hmm .... how are we going to do XBOX footage?
TBH< I haven't had a lot of time to play with it.
Got a monitor/TV with component in? You can borrow it if you like...
you'll need:
  • A PC with decent gfx and a spare USB
  • A HDD with a stack of free space (USB external is fine)
  • A cable from the Xbox to component RCAs
  • TV/Monitor with composite in (probably the one you play Xbox on anyway - most HD LCD/Plasma TVs have one)
Also talk to click - I know his youtube channel has a shedload of video on it from burnout, skate, pain, etc
__________________
Cad nominatim, CAD per professio, cad per vis.
(Click the .sig for my PSN portable ID)
Cadder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +11. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0