Old 4th June 2010, 09:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 1798

Angry
Default log in all screwey

I had to get a new PS3 the old one had a sensor die on me and I was looking at $250 to replace it so...A new slimline accidently fell into y shopping bag....>SO i told the wifey anyway.
What has happened though is that somehow I have logged in and screwed up my user id ...profile...I have found this is frustrating. Is there a way to change the user and the playstation loggins...if you know what I mean

Any help will be Appreciated.

BTW anyone know a cheaper way to get a ps3 repaired...we have no authorised repairers here in SA
__________________


"Put your head between your knees and kiss your ass goodbye!!" ......
Milt is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 5th June 2010, 12:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Elite - Post: 2633
 Cadder's Avatar

Default

Not sure what you mean by having a sensor die.. but if you can still boot up the original ps3, go to the system menu -> backup utility and do a full backup on your ps3 to a usb stick. In most cases a 4gb should do you but I always use a portable drive (600Gb).
Then restore it to your new PS3. it will restore all your user profiles and MOST of your game data. (it overwrites anything you have there) You may have to re-download some DLC.
Before you do a backup tho, go to your game trophies and synchronise with the server.
Then synch again with the new one after all your settings, etc have been copied.

Hope this helps... unless I've missed something you said that makes this irrelevant...
__________________
Cad nominatim, CAD per professio, cad per vis.
(Click the .sig for my PSN portable ID)
Cadder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2010, 09:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
The Caretaker
Console Forum Manager
Ace - Post: 9244
 Ancient_One's Avatar

Breezy
Default

If you have protected content then you will need to do a PS3 to PS3 transfer which will remove the protected content from the old PS3 to the new PS3 and deletes it from the old machine.

It also does everything else you have on the machine just like a backup only more thorough.
__________________
Ancient_One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2010, 12:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 1798

Angry
Default

I now have al backed up and the sensor which died is the one which recognises that there disks in the drive.
__________________


"Put your head between your knees and kiss your ass goodbye!!" ......
Milt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2010, 03:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Elite - Post: 2633
 Cadder's Avatar

Default

Presuming the sensor is in the drive itself, I just happen to have a spare PS3 drive here...
If you can get the unit from SA to the Gold Coast, I'm happy to look at it for you.
__________________
Cad nominatim, CAD per professio, cad per vis.
(Click the .sig for my PSN portable ID)
Cadder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2010, 10:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 1798

Angry
Default

Cadder thanks for the offer I will be in touch via PM
__________________


"Put your head between your knees and kiss your ass goodbye!!" ......
Milt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +11. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0