Old 4th January 2011, 01:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Elite - Post: 2540

Question Steering wheel controllers: worth the effort?

I just purchased a not-Logitec brand (I'm purposely not naming brand - I believe one TOGger referred to them as craptastic) USB steering wheel controller, because... well... I have no idea why, really, it seemed like a good idea at the time, and the price seemed reasonable)
Anyhoo; some detail:
  1. I've never used a wheel controller on my PS3 before.
  2. it's specifically designed for the PS3.
  3. It connects via wired USB
  4. the flippers, pedals (x2) and gear shift are re-programmable.
After a little minor reprogramming of the buttons, I've configured it in such a manner as it now works and functions to my satisfaction with the only 2 Driving games I have; namely NFS:Hot Pursuit and of course, Burnout Paradise. (Haven't tried it on ModNation Racers, since that's pretty much been laid claim to for the kids' PS3)
I also have GT5 waiting at the post office for me to pick up (since the PO wasn't open over NY ).

However, after giving the new wheel a burl last night, I was a little disappointed to find that my NFS times were around 20seconds down on those I had previously achieved with a standard PS3 controller - even on occasions where I'd thought to myself "that was a pretty good run".

My questions for my fellow PS3 TOGgers who have such a controller (irregardless of brand) are;
  1. How do you get on with your wheel?
  2. Do you generally do better or worse with a wheel than std controller?
  3. Does it depend on the game you're playing at the time?
  4. Do you find the some games are "more fun" to play with a controller than a wheel?
  5. Am I just bleating because I'm not used to using a wheel?
  6. Does it get better?

Old 4th January 2011, 04:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lethal - Post: 5501

Pensive

1. How do you get on with your wheel?

Great, I buy it a drink now and then and we get on famously.