TOG Latest

Chris Roberts Recognises the Star Cit...

The rising interest in Star Citizen in TOG has gai...

Warthunder heard throughout TOG

The sounds of Warthunder is being heard throughout TOG

Dota 2 Release

DOTA2 Released.

Planetside 2 Release 20-Nov-2012 PST

The long awaited and critically acclaimed PlanetSi...

Division Latest

TOG MindCrack - Mining, Machines, Mag...

TOG's MindCrack Minecraft server offers all that's...

Get to know your guildmate interview ...

Ral Partha interviews TOG member and Guild Wars 2 ...

Machines and magic in Minecraft - 'Fe...

Over the vacation period, a "Feed The Beast" Mod p...

Get to know your guildmate interview ...

Ral Partha interviews TOG member and Guild Wars 2 ...


Go Back   The Older Gamers Forums > TOG Strategy, RPG and Other Games > Minecraft (Public Forum)

Minecraft (Public Forum) Build it and they will come

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 6th April 2012, 04:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
Dangerous - Post: 596
 Akira Doe's Avatar

Tired
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdmiralTriggerH View Post
From those lines you can then connect your existing railways, and I'm happy to assist you in doing so.
Do you have any advice, examples (youtube etc) to join the below without breaking the existing track?

Would creating a station here be the best solution? If so, does anyone on the "Westline" object to a station where you may have to stop and start your cart ride?



Quote:
Originally Posted by AdmiralTriggerH View Post
The station level is 41 as that was decided some time ago.
The depth of the line I've just connected to is 42 (according to the "F3" read out). I followed it back to the station and it's on the same level. Maybe other people should check the depth of the station in person to make sure they dig at the correct level.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Rail Line.jpg (77.9 KB, 73 views)
__________________
Akira Doe is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 6th April 2012, 04:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
Division Captain
RUST
Dangerous - Post: 748 TOG Platinum Level Supporter

Amused
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira Doe View Post
Do you have any advice, examples (youtube etc) to join the below without breaking the existing track?

Would creating a station here be the best solution? If so, does anyone on the "Westline" object to a station where you may have to stop and start your cart ride?
I can assist with that once I've finished my autumn cleaning this arvo, its fairly straight forward to do if you are on I'll demo it for you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira Doe View Post
The depth of the line I've just connected to is 42 (according to the "F3" read out). I followed it back to the station and it's on the same level. Maybe other people should check the depth of the station in person to make sure they dig at the correct level.
Yeah, different things read the height differently, I believe F3 does reads from your head, whereas Rei's reads from your feet, therefore Rei's actually provides slightly better data.
The station is at 41 according to Rei's Minimap, which will read as 42 on F3
AdmiralTriggerH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2012, 06:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Dangerous - Post: 596
 Akira Doe's Avatar

Tired
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdmiralTriggerH View Post
I can assist with that once I've finished my autumn cleaning this arvo, its fairly straight forward to do if you are on I'll demo it for you.
It seems I've found a not so straight forward way of doing it... as usual...



This way at least you don't have to get out of the cart either way (to or from the Central Station) but you can only go down my track FROM the Central station.

It will make more sense when it's built, I think...

I can always undo it and go back to the way it was if needed.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg station.jpg (183.3 KB, 70 views)
__________________
Akira Doe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2012, 07:51 PM   #14 (permalink)
Division Captain
RUST
Dangerous - Post: 748 TOG Platinum Level Supporter

Amused
Default

That looks overly complex, its possible to it with just a couple of pistons and a memory circuit
AdmiralTriggerH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2012, 07:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Dangerous - Post: 596
 Akira Doe's Avatar

Tired
Default

If it's not overly complex it's not worth doing!!!

(lol)

Like I said, I can always undo it, but check it out. If you think it doesn't suit the rail line let me know and I'll change it back.
__________________
Akira Doe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2012, 08:24 PM   #16 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Retired Captain
Ace - Post: 9016
 Sorontar's Avatar

Default

If the line is to go in both directions, it will be hard if you don't want to stop and select a track at every intersection.
__________________

Sorontar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2012, 01:19 AM   #17 (permalink)
Dangerous - Post: 596
 Akira Doe's Avatar

Tired
Default

Thanks for the tips Admiral, I've come up with a solution that works both ways and you don't need to exit the cart, but it does stop you on the track to make your selection.

Rather than elevating the tracks like we were toying with, I created 3 lower levels where the tracks meet and send you where you want to go.

It's easier to see it rather than explain it here...
__________________
Akira Doe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2012, 11:35 AM   #18 (permalink)
Guild Officer
Guild Officer
Final Fantasy XIV
Lethal - Post: 5498 TOG Platinum Level Supporter
 DarkDuck's Avatar

Lurking
Default

with the addition of Duck Station I decided to do a map of the network of what I have found so far, inspired by the London Undergrounds if you have additions do tell and I will alter the spawn one will be tricky I am trying to work out a way of making it leave on the same line as me maybe a sub station who knows

DarkDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2012, 08:08 AM   #19 (permalink)
Competent - Post: 271
 Maorin's Avatar

Doubtful
Default

What coordinates are the existing stations at? I'd like to extend to one, but want to find out who'd be closest to link to.
Maorin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2012, 02:14 PM   #20 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 1249

Amused
Default

I'm probably close to a third done on my Temple Scenic Loop railway line.

It goes right around the mountain ranges around my area. I have no idea what if any lines reach out in my direction to be able to eventually connect to.

Already having trouble with monsters on the lines though. It would take an awful lot of fencing to fence it off.
MadMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +11. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0