Old 17th June 2012, 08:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Guild Leader
Cartographer
Minecraft
Competent - Post: 481
 Aveege's Avatar

Default No mobs spawning?

So espesh noticed that no mobs were spawning around him so i took a look outside my place at night which is always mob filled and there was 0 out there aswell. I tried turning on slime farm and those also are not spawning currently. Think server might need a reboot?
Aveege is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 17th June 2012, 09:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Dangerous - Post: 640
 Akira Doe's Avatar

Tired
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aveege View Post
So espesh noticed that no mobs were spawning around him so i took a look outside my place at night which is always mob filled and there was 0 out there aswell. I tried turning on slime farm and those also are not spawning currently. Think server might need a reboot?
I'd check for people who might be afk in a mob spawner. It can max out server limit of mobs and they won't spawn "naturally".

All my XP Farms have kill switches accessible from the outside so if you do find one flip the switch and it should solve the problem. Throwing a healing potion (some of the farms have them in chests) will also work with the bonus of farming XP, but it might not be possible to do that if there are heaps of mobs (framerate drops to like 1...).

I was about to join, if they are still not spawning I'll have a look.
__________________
Akira Doe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2012, 10:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Dangerous - Post: 640
 Akira Doe's Avatar

Tired
Default

Ok, it seems my arrow farm has (hopefully had) a flaw in the redstone. If someone were to TP away, if the timing is just right the redstone clock would get stuck in the off position. This means that the grinder doesn't grind so the mobs keep adding up.

This wouldn't normally be an issue because once you leave the spawner it will unload the chunk and the mobs should disappear. However, I believe that sometimes if a player times out the mobs will stay loaded (at least their count towards the mob limit of the server). I think that's what happened here.

I've made some changes to the farm. Now the grinder only activates when you are on the pressure pad in the collection room. This means the player won't need to flip a switch to turn off the grinder as they leave via the nether (once they exit the collection room the redstone turns off and the clock resets).

Now what I'm unsure of is if someone /tps out of the collection room (or disconnects), will the pressure plate be deactivated before the chunk is unloaded...

In case it is still an issue there is now a master kill switch that will override all the redstone clocks (but won't reset them ) and will kill everything in the spawner.



The issue is that sometimes the repeaters if they are active when the player leaves the chunk, they stay active even if not powered. Without removing and replacing a bit of redstone (dust, torch, repeater etc) on the circuit (manually) I don't know how to reset it.

To the wiki!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg masterkill.jpg (90.0 KB, 26 views)
__________________
Akira Doe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2012, 10:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Dangerous - Post: 640
 Akira Doe's Avatar

Tired
Default

I might try this, Tutorials/Repeater Reboot System - Minecraft Wiki but attached it to the pressure plate.
__________________
Akira Doe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2012, 11:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Dangerous - Post: 640
 Akira Doe's Avatar

Tired
Default

Ok, I think I've implemented what the wiki said, time will tell.



Those are the 3 repeaters that cause all the problems ad now they have redstone that changes state adjacent to them (without interacting with the circuit) so it *should* be problem solved.

We'll see...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg redstonereboot.jpg (67.2 KB, 24 views)
__________________
Akira Doe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2012, 11:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Guild Leader
Cartographer
Minecraft
Competent - Post: 481
 Aveege's Avatar

Default

Thanx Akira
Aveege is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2012, 12:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Retired Captain
Lethal - Post: 5160
 HenriDeacon's Avatar

Amused
Default

I was using the Arrow farm yesterday then TPd to PvP Zone. That would have been that timing thing you were talking about as i went back later and the farm was still running.
__________________
HenriDeacon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +11. The time now is 12:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0