Old 28th January 2013, 02:27 AM   #331 (permalink)
Dangerous - Post: 851

Mellow
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaedalusAlpha View Post
But anything pointing to a location outside or in another world should not be used.
Why not? We're using the same seed for outward points (for the Overworld only).
Deweyoxberg is online now   Reply With Quote

Old 28th January 2013, 03:30 AM   #332 (permalink)
Ace - Post: 8329 TOG Silver Level Supporter
 DaedalusAlpha's Avatar

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deweyoxberg View Post
Why not? We're using the same seed for outward points (for the Overworld only).
Let me answer you with an example or two

Volcanoes did not exist in the previous world (because RedPower was not used) but now they do. Even though the seed is the same there has popped up volcanoes here and there. What happens if your teleport point happens to be inte middle of a volcano?

Or even easier; what if the teleport point is below gound in a room you yourself dug out? It will be massive rock now...

Or up in a tower that you yourself built? Splat...
__________________
EVE Online characters:
Daedalus II
ex-CEO TOGOA, Daedalus III slave of Daedalus II
GW2 characters:
Little Molok Asura Engineer


"Each day I don't get an attempt on my life by a robot from the future I see as a personal failure"
DaedalusAlpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2013, 07:10 AM   #333 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Retired Captain
Elite - Post: 2912
 Irimar's Avatar

Grumpy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaedalusAlpha View Post
Yeah I guess, though Irmar said it was only a matter of copying some folder somewhere. But I guess it's possible you've already wiped that folder from the old version.
What I said, specifically, was that if they hadn't wiped those folders, it was possible that the contents might be restored. With the server reset, it's not surprising that they're gone.
Irimar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2013, 10:14 AM   #334 (permalink)
Elite - Post: 4025
 Obsi's Avatar

Cheeky
Default

You can do it - but use caution.

The seed we use is the same, and the biomes will probably be the same *type* but they may not generate the same *way* they did last time. Where once was flat land, may have a hill, or a pool of lava, or a canyon.

So you could teleport in and find yourself suffocated in the ground, or falling into a pit or something.

My old quarry site in the savannah was fine, as I created the linkbook on ground level and the ground level stayed the same in that spot. But other locations might not be fine, and if you'd made a linkbook below ground level - chances are you'll be in the ground if you try to teleport in
__________________

Obsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2013, 10:25 AM   #335 (permalink)
Dangerous - Post: 517
 Hell Scream's Avatar

Angelic
Default

cool beans, not too concerned with golems, i find the farming ones useful and that's about it, everything else can be done with pipes imo
__________________

Nothing says "I'm a lazy-arsed console porting Dev" like 'Press Enter to begin' at the title screen. I have a "Loot" fetish. Pro Sig Courtesy of ONYX
Hell Scream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2013, 11:37 AM   #336 (permalink)
Division Captain
Minecraft
Lethal - Post: 5614 TOG Platinum Level Supporter
 DarkDuck's Avatar

Lurking
Lightbulb FTB/Mindcrack IMPORTANT UPDATE to Additional Pipes

We have instigated a bug fix for the server

in order to get back in you need to install the following file from the post here
[1.2.5][BC2.2.14 - BC3.1.5][REV2.1.3/REV3.1.0] Additional Pipes for BuildCraft (Teleport Pipes) - Minecraft Forum - Page 98 - Page 98

Direct dropbox link (from the Dev) is
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/0hc1l4bn4dvjlni/Mu1fqxJdDD/AdditionalPipes-2.1.3u36b2-1.4.6.jar

Download and save this file to the "instMods" folder in your "MindCrack" folder.

this will enable the additional pipes.

Last edited by Obsi; 29th January 2013 at 10:41 AM. Reason: fixed link
DarkDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2013, 11:42 AM   #337 (permalink)
Competent - Post: 280
 TAZZROK's Avatar

Default

so we install that in instmods instead of the one in the beginers guide post yer
__________________
AKA, TOUROK

Minecraft isn't Minecraft after playing Feed The Beast
TAZZROK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2013, 11:43 AM   #338 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Retired Captain
Ace - Post: 9194
 Sorontar's Avatar

Default

yes
__________________

Sorontar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2013, 12:41 PM   #339 (permalink)
Dangerous - Post: 851

Mellow
Default

Link in post is broken.

Here it is again: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/0hc1l4bn4...36b2-1.4.6.jar
Deweyoxberg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2013, 12:42 PM   #340 (permalink)
Dangerous - Post: 632
 Akira Doe's Avatar

Tired
Default

Thanks.
__________________
Akira Doe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +11. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0