TOG Latest

Chris Roberts Recognises the Star Cit...

The rising interest in Star Citizen in TOG has gai...

Warthunder heard throughout TOG

The sounds of Warthunder is being heard throughout TOG

Dota 2 Release

DOTA2 Released.

Planetside 2 Release 20-Nov-2012 PST

The long awaited and critically acclaimed PlanetSi...

Division Latest

TOG MindCrack - Mining, Machines, Mag...

TOG's MindCrack Minecraft server offers all that's...

Get to know your guildmate interview ...

Ral Partha interviews TOG member and Guild Wars 2 ...

Machines and magic in Minecraft - 'Fe...

Over the vacation period, a "Feed The Beast" Mod p...

Get to know your guildmate interview ...

Ral Partha interviews TOG member and Guild Wars 2 ...

Old 25th February 2013, 01:23 PM   #311 (permalink)
Guild Leader
Architect
Minecraft
Competent - Post: 318
 marvelmanic's Avatar

Lurking
Default

There is another article around here that discusses this.

The short answer is no.

The long answer, it is possible but in a very indirect manner.

I think I have come to the conclusion that BU is a good, clean way to create MJ. But EU can only be created by EU generators.
marvelmanic is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 25th February 2013, 01:57 PM   #312 (permalink)
Division Captain
Minecraft
Elite - Post: 2662
 Irimar's Avatar

Grumpy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marvelmanic View Post
There is another article around here that discusses this.

The short answer is no.

The long answer, it is possible but in a very indirect manner.

I think I have come to the conclusion that BU is a good, clean way to create MJ. But EU can only be created by EU generators.
This is about the size of it. Both Blutricity and EU can be converted to MJ, but there's no good way to convert to either of them. All paths in that direction are really, really inefficient, to the point that, if you were converting EU to MJ, and then turning that back to EU, you'd only get out about half as much EU as you put in. It's really not worth it.

Solar panels are generally my preference, but there are other ways to go. If you need a hand getting started with solar, poke me on the server or drop me a PM. I'm sure we can get you sorted out.
Irimar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 03:57 PM   #313 (permalink)
Guild Officer
Guild Officer
Final Fantasy XIV
Lethal - Post: 5498 TOG Platinum Level Supporter
 DarkDuck's Avatar

Lurking
Default

so with EU you can make
1) Generators - use Coal, Coke, Charcole
2) GEothermal - Uses Lava, very good middle power, about as good as Advanced Solar
3) PetroGenerators - use BU to make MJ power, Refine oil to Fuel, Burn Fuel to make EU
4) Use Fermenter and refinery to make Biofuel from wheat, use a BioGenerator to make EU
5) Go Nuclear - TBH the nuclear route is easy, first level called Mk1 reactors can be passively powered and can generate more energy than most will need for a long time.
DarkDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 04:05 PM   #314 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 2029
 OranjeJus's Avatar

Cynical
Default FTB: Connection problems. Is this a known bug?

And if so, anyone know the fix?

I can't connect properly. I log in ok, world starts to load and I can move around for a few seconds (maybe 20 to 30 tops) but I can't talk or interact with anything (chests etc)

I get the error:

Connection Lost
Internal exception: java.net.SocketException: Connection reset



- OJ
OranjeJus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 04:17 PM   #315 (permalink)
Guild Leader
Cartographer
Minecraft
Competent - Post: 459
 Aveege's Avatar

Default

I had problems when i first started, it was due to java. i ended up deleting java and reloading fresh. no problems since
Aveege is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 04:31 PM   #316 (permalink)
Division Vice Captain
MechWarrior Online
Elite - Post: 2668
 white_bear_84's Avatar

Amused
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkDuck View Post
so with EU you can make
1) Generators - use Coal, Coke, Charcole
2) GEothermal - Uses Lava, very good middle power, about as good as Advanced Solar
3) PetroGenerators - use BU to make MJ power, Refine oil to Fuel, Burn Fuel to make EU
4) Use Fermenter and refinery to make Biofuel from wheat, use a BioGenerator to make EU
5) Go Nuclear - TBH the nuclear route is easy, first level called Mk1 reactors can be passively powered and can generate more energy than most will need for a long time.
Well im building a blast furnace so think i will make up some aluminium and build myself a couple of thermal generators which can be fueled by magma crucibles.. ..seems like a good choice!?! With eight magmatic engines per crucible i should be able to continually power the thermal generators?
__________________

MWO: White Bear 84 | Minecraft/Rust: white_bear_84 | BF3/BF4 - Fired_up_Bear84 | ESO: WhiteBear84 |

white_bear_84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 04:55 PM   #317 (permalink)
Elite - Post: 3996
 Obsi's Avatar

Cheeky
Default

Yup, firstly check if you're running the most up to date java - if not, delete the old, and install new.

Also increase the RAM FTB will use if you can.

Other than that - try moving to spawn and connecting again. If you're trying to login at a very laggy place, you might not be able to connect properly.
__________________
Obsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 05:17 PM   #318 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 2029
 OranjeJus's Avatar

Cynical
Default

ftb runs on my machine with 2.5GB so that isn't the problem. No firewall running, full wireless strength, I have Java 1.7.0_11 installed.

Will try tele to spawn and see what happens.


- OJ
OranjeJus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 05:22 PM   #319 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 2029
 OranjeJus's Avatar

Cynical
Default

Hasn't helped. So, I have determined through Mumble that people can see me talk instantly (but I don't see my chat) Also, I do /tp or /spawn etc and nothing happens locally. However, when I disconnect and then re-join, I appear in the tele location.

Having logged on at spawn, the pressure plates weren't responding. But I haven't been kicked from server yet after 30 seconds... so maybe it's syncing me up?



- OJ
OranjeJus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 05:28 PM   #320 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 2029
 OranjeJus's Avatar

Cynical
Default

Nope =P

Edit (instead of new post)

Just thought of something that I'm sure is going to be it.

My virus software license expired a couple of days ago. I bet it's locked on some firewall setting that doesn't allow inbound traffic, even tho it says it's currently 'disabled'

Usually, I white listed traffic to and from minecraft.


I need to get the new license key anyway, so there's no time like the present.


- OJ

Last edited by OranjeJus; 25th February 2013 at 06:48 PM.
OranjeJus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +11. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0