Old 26th February 2013, 03:51 PM   #351 (permalink)
Elite - Post: 4026
 Obsi's Avatar

Cheeky
Default

Quote:
and I have to play with my puppy. (That's not a euphemism either guys and gals... I know how you think.)
__________________

Obsi is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 26th February 2013, 04:21 PM   #352 (permalink)
Division Captain
Minecraft
Lethal - Post: 5764 TOG Platinum Level Supporter
 DarkDuck's Avatar

Lurking
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OranjeJus View Post
I have to play with my puppy. (That's not a euphemism either guys and gals... I know how you think.)
- OJ
I am offended, what could we possibly imply or infer you mean by puppy....oh wait never mind hehehe you call it your puppy how cute!
DarkDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2013, 04:57 PM   #353 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 2432
 OranjeJus's Avatar

Cynical
Default

And it's magically working tonight. Don't do the delete etc. Cheers for your suggestions all.


- OJ
OranjeJus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2013, 04:58 PM   #354 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 2432
 OranjeJus's Avatar

Cynical
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkDuck View Post
I am offended, what could we possibly imply or infer you mean by puppy....oh wait never mind hehehe you call it your puppy how cute!
He's pretty playful and comes on command.


- OJ
OranjeJus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2013, 06:13 PM   #355 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Retired Captain
Elite - Post: 2905
 Bru1zer's Avatar

Amused
Default Proper Power Grids and Complaining Machines

Been meaning to throw this up for about a week, been busy.
Alas here it be.

Figured something out when upgrading my trasformers the other day.

In a nutshell.
Grid loops are bad, because the way in which IC2 power works is backward requests from the machines to the transformers up the line so on and so forth, when you have loops the requests get lost and the machines start complaining they don't have enough power.

I had 1 MFSU 2 MV transformers and 8 LV transformers, machines were running fine, when I added the second bank which effectively doubled the power line from 256 to 512 machines started complaining, because the loop blocked the request for power even though I technically had a 512 line @ 32EU/tick

To get the full output from an MFSU you need 4 MV transformers and 16 LV transformers. Which will give you 512 EU total shared over your 128 EU/ tick and your 32EU/tick lines.
4:1 Ratio
1 MV and 4 LV would give you 128 lines
2 MV and 8 LV would give you 256 lines
3 MV and 12 LV would give you 384 lines

Of course there are many ways to do your power grid, I personally find this easier than throwing transformers around as needed, I know exactly how much power I have and can easily calculate how much power my machines need.

The transformers can be in a line, go around a corner or snake back and forth, as long as there is no loop in the system there should be no problem with lost requests.

Examples

A good wiring job with no loops.



A bad wiring job with grid loops.


A good solar array with no loops.

A bad solar array with grid loops.



My machine shop runs two MFSU's through 8 MV's then 32 LV's which gives me 1024 lines, more than the combined total of all my machines can pull even with quad overclockers.

Spoiler: screenies 
__________________
I used to be a Mechwarrior, then I took an Arrow IV to the knee actuator.
When I was your age, we rocket jumped all the way to school, uphill both ways.

Last edited by Bru1zer; 26th February 2013 at 06:20 PM.
Bru1zer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2013, 06:24 PM   #356 (permalink)
Division Captain
MechWarrior Online
Elite - Post: 3173
 white_bear_84's Avatar

Amused
Default

Thats alot of energy...
__________________

MWO: White Bear 84 | Minecraft/Rust: white_bear_84 | BF3/BF4 - Fired_up_Bear84 | ESO: WhiteBear84 |

white_bear_84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2013, 06:54 PM   #357 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Retired Captain
Lethal - Post: 5160
 HenriDeacon's Avatar

Amused
Default

Very nice. Time to make a backup of your working Mindcrack, FTB folders and launcher It's always an good idea no matter the reason for having connection troubles.

Doing a character reset has fixed a few players in the past ....
as it places you back at Spawn as basically a new player.

See you in game.
__________________

Last edited by HenriDeacon; 26th February 2013 at 06:58 PM.
HenriDeacon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2013, 06:59 PM   #358 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Retired Captain
Elite - Post: 2905
 Bru1zer's Avatar

Amused
Default A suggestion for hard to aquire items

Two items that are extremely difficult to come by big cat claws and zombie brains, I deduce this somehow ties in with the mo creatues mod and it's effect on spawn percentages that the modmins had to adjust when mo creatues first went live due to the ridiculous amount of entities that were created.

As more people get horses they need whips to get them to stay, this requires 3 big cat claws, unfortunately finding big cats is a lucky dip, I've flown round the map multiple times for (minecraft) days on end and not seen a single passive mob at times.

Also zombie brains which are required in thaumcraft are even rarer, I know of one person that has one, and as more people throw on their robes and wizard hats the demand will rise.

I propose a solution that makes if or when the server gets updated inconsequential.

Throw in a few "Trade-o-mats" in spawn next to some personal safes.
Set some prices (a stack of diamonds for one big cat claw for example) (a stack of lapis for a zombie brain)
And admin spawn the big cat claws and zombie brains and fill up the safes, the trade-o-mats will do the rest.

Personally I don't care how expensive they are, but I would prefer to be able to grid out a resource and trade it, rather then fly around the map for days on the off chance the RNG will roll in my favour, a fun game that does not make.
__________________
I used to be a Mechwarrior, then I took an Arrow IV to the knee actuator.
When I was your age, we rocket jumped all the way to school, uphill both ways.
Bru1zer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2013, 07:01 PM   #359 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Retired Captain
Elite - Post: 2905
 Bru1zer's Avatar

Amused
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by white_bear_84 View Post
Thats alot of energy...
Nah, Our IDSU with 1 Billion EU is a lot of energy.
__________________
I used to be a Mechwarrior, then I took an Arrow IV to the knee actuator.
When I was your age, we rocket jumped all the way to school, uphill both ways.
Bru1zer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2013, 07:26 PM   #360 (permalink)
Division Captain
MechWarrior Online
Elite - Post: 3173
 white_bear_84's Avatar

Amused
Default

I have three bat boxes
__________________

MWO: White Bear 84 | Minecraft/Rust: white_bear_84 | BF3/BF4 - Fired_up_Bear84 | ESO: WhiteBear84 |

white_bear_84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +11. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0