Go Back   The Older Gamers Forums > TOG Public Forums > MMORPG Games: The Realms

MMORPG Games: The Realms Public discussion forum for all MMORPG games.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 5th August 2014, 01:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Harmless - Post: 38

Lurking
Default Non-gamer tries MMO, dislikes quests

Not sure if this is the right place to put it, but I thought this might be kind of interesting to some people.

A Non-Gamer in a Massively Multiplayer Online World | JunkiesNation

I actually like ArcheAge myself, but as a veteran, I kind of feel the same way. I don't want to log in and quest and level, I just want to play. The zones, though, are really tiered, and levels are hugely important. This may sound awful, but after hitting the max level so many times in so many games, leading raids and events, I feel like I'm entitled to a max level character whenever I pick up a new MMO just so I can actually play "the game" rather than plod through the extended tutorial known as "leveling." Really sucks, since I'd been following AA for so long but might now just be burnt out on MMOs unless they're without levels (like PlanetSide 2 or Everquest Landmark). Funny that a new player kind of notices that too.
Dengar is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 5th August 2014, 01:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 1412

Psychedelic

It's a personality thing. Some people can/never will like a game you have to slowly invest you time into to reap the benefits. Other's love the time investment you share with your buddies to get to a certain point in a game. There's no right or wrong. It's simply about preference.

I love Archeage because it's the first game in a while that has put any value in actually playing the game long term. My main love is Battlefield, and I can play that anytime I want a quick fix. But a world you can be a part of as opposed to this afternoon's session is a rare commodity these days.