Go Back   The Older Gamers Forums > TOG Public Forums > RPG, Simulation, Strategy and Others

RPG, Simulation, Strategy and Others Public discussion forum for Strategy and Other games.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 5th May 2008, 10:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Harmless - Post: 11

Amazed
Smile Wizardry 8 - any similar modern games?

Hi, Newbie here,

Very sorry if this has been discussed before (can't see the search option anywhere).

Years ago my bro and I played Wizardry 7 and then 8.

Does anyone know of a similar modern game?

By that I mean a game where you gain XP and build up your team from the start. Have played Baldur's Gate and Silverfall, but would love a game where I can choose my team from the start, and not point-and-click fighting.

Many thanks, Aleyd

Old 12th May 2008, 10:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Average - Post: 135

Dead

Might and Magic carried on the same format as Wizardry. Although, that too has past our of current play. Neverwinter Nights lets you build up parties of characters. Guild Wars also has "heroes" you can customize in your party... (Guild Wars: Nightfall expansion only).
Masada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2008, 07:28 PM   #3 (permalink)

Amazed

Thanks for the info.
Old 13th May 2008, 07:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Harmless - Post: 14

thanks..probably would tried that
kaskus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2008, 03:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Average - Post: 240

So you're looking for a party RPG where you get to choose the party at the start of the game? Wasn't Icewind Dale/Heart of Winter/2 like that?

Also, IIRC, if you play Baldur's Gate/2 as a multiplayer game (host a listen server and then have no one else join it) you can start the game with a full party of six characters that you create and you can ignore the NPCs that want to join you.