Go Back   The Older Gamers Forums > TOG Public Forums > RPG, Simulation, Strategy and Others

RPG, Simulation, Strategy and Others Public discussion forum for Strategy and Other games.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 16th May 2010, 05:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Journalist
Dangerous - Post: 695

Sleepy
Default Dwarf Fortress

I was wondering of there were any other Dwarf Fortress players in TOG. For those of you who aren't familiar with the game, it's a very complicated and in-depth rougelike created by a tiny (2 person) development team. DF essentially puts you in charge of an expedition of surly dwarves, trying to establish a secure fortress and functional economy whilst under attack by hordes of rampaging elephants, and other sources of Fun.

I'm just getting into it myself, and finding it to be both a blast and rather challenging. In particular, I'm having a hard time wrapping my head around recent changes to the military.

Old 17th May 2010, 02:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Guild Officer
Guild Officer
DOTA2
Deadly - Post: 2183

Confused

I've downloaded it numerous times but it's so daunting and I just haven't had the time. I'll get around to it one day, just need to find a good beginners guide.
Battlelog ~ PSN - Trent_Steele ~ Steam ~ Battle.net - Chief#6843
Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2010, 03:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Journalist

Sleepy

After Action Reporter did a really good (though now slightly outdated) tutorial - that's what got me started. I'd get a tileset too (the DFG is a great one). I fount that getting from ascii to tiles made the game much more playable.
Old 17th May 2010, 04:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Retired Captain
Officer On Leave
Elite - Post: 3520

Tired

<===== My avatar!

Yeah military overhaul has knocked me for a six too. I should be used to the maddening learning curve by now, I've been playing a couple of years, but this has daunted me to the point where I have put off re-learning it for the now.