Go Back   The Older Gamers Forums > TOG Public Forums > RPG, Simulation, Strategy and Others

RPG, Simulation, Strategy and Others Public discussion forum for Strategy and Other games.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 14th August 2010, 01:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 1315

Default Oblivion GOTY Deluxe

Hello all,

Yes, yes, I know... It is absolutely crazy that a veteran gamer like myself has NEVER played this game. Well, steam put it on sale and I could not resist the price of $9.00 for the deluxe edition with all expansions and DLC.

So last night I got it installed and I started playing. I played through the jail breakout and met with the kings bastard child. I wanted to keep playing into the night, but I had to go to bed. I now have some questions that I was hoping my fellow toggers could answer:

I hear so much about mods. I want to play the game through at least once with very few mods. I downloaded and installed the OBMM only as well as the unofficial patches. I would like to install a few mods to improve the UI as it is pretty old and clunky. I would also love a good graphics enhancement UI. Can you guys give me some suggestions and let me know if they would be friendly to the steam version?

Is my above approach of playing the game through without many mods stupid? should I reconsider?

I started a mage/sorcerer. As a new player is this going to be very difficult? I saw a post somewhere that suggested the mages hold off on the main questline and go do the mage guild questlind for rewards and riches. Do you agree? If so, how do I start that?

I also heard something about a pub to go to where I could get a free lifetime room? Anyone give me clarity on what this is?

Wow, so many questions, I wont ask them all.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Old 14th August 2010, 02:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired Captain
Retired Captains
Elite - Post: 3842

Amused

this is the place you want to go: The Elder Scrolls Nexus - Oblivion mods and community