Go Back   The Older Gamers Forums > TOG Public Forums > Shooter Games: The Range

Shooter Games: The Range Public discussion forum for all shooter games.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 23rd January 2010, 04:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
Dangerous - Post: 669
 Mysterio3's Avatar

Cheeky
Default

ummm.... wait, if you've pluggd teh PC into the Modem and the laptop into the router which then goes to the modem, it wont work....
its gotta be both the pc and laptop into router, then router to modem.
__________________

^.^
Mysterio3 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 23rd January 2010, 08:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ned
Public Forum Coordinator
Guru - Post: 11366
 Ned's Avatar

Default

Good luck with this, I've never been able to sort out my own networking.
Let us know when it's finally sorted out
Ned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2010, 11:39 AM   #13 (permalink)
Competent - Post: 308
 Flibbs's Avatar

Mellow
Default

Bit confused. In your first post you say you have them both connected to the router. In your last post you say one is connected to the modem and the other to the router?

If you do have one plugged into the modem and the other into the router then they are not in the same LAN. You have set up two LANs. You need to either put them in the same LAN by connecting both to the same device or changing settings in the router to enable them to see each other.

Google on how to set up Windows file sharing between XP and Vista. Once you have set up and can see shared folders between the two computers then then you'll have no problems with games.

Just a note on red (crossover) cables. Most network devices are auto sensing these days and will adjust the signal path depending on which type cable is used. Which is why cables now come in more than just blue and red.
Flibbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2010, 01:05 PM   #14 (permalink)
Dangerous - Post: 669
 Mysterio3's Avatar

Cheeky
Default

yeah, but the cables that routers come with are just about always a funky colour that has no meaning whatsoever, my one came with a black cable even though its just a standard cat8 !
__________________

^.^
Mysterio3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2010, 01:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Spammer - Post: 25479
 Reoh's Avatar

Amused
Default

Unless of course its a modem/router like mine.
__________________

We need you, Citizen!
Reoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2010, 04:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 2452
 RUFFSACK's Avatar

Dead
Default

My apologies

COMPUTER XP------biege cable-----DLINK ROUTER-----blue cable-----LAPTOP VISTA

DLINK ROUTER-----Blue cable-----Modem

The biege cable is quite old and im thinking its no good networking as it was just a modem cable


I have a spare yellow cable cable we have used to link 2 laptops before i think its called a crossover cable?
__________________
RUFFSACK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2010, 04:57 PM   #17 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 2452
 RUFFSACK's Avatar

Dead
Default

Ok so i swapped my beige cable for the yellow one and the net works fine will try to lan soon.

Note
Biege cable had CAT5 on it
__________________
RUFFSACK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2010, 04:44 PM   #18 (permalink)
Deadly - Post: 2452
 RUFFSACK's Avatar

Dead
Default

OK WOOT WOOT

We got Far Cry to LAN

Our WORKGROUP was diff so we fixed that.

Then we had to make our IP's close EG .01 and .02. Apparently the bigger the gap it doesnt work

We also had to do a small update which was still a pain at dial up speeds

Also switched back to the old cable and it works fine
__________________
RUFFSACK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2010, 05:35 PM   #19 (permalink)
Spammer - Post: 25479
 Reoh's Avatar

Amused
Default

VICTORY!

Grats mate, happy gaming.
__________________

We need you, Citizen!
Reoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 11:43 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ned
Public Forum Coordinator
Guru - Post: 11366
 Ned's Avatar

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RUFFSACK View Post
OK WOOT WOOT

We got Far Cry to LAN
Great!

If you don't have the Steam version make sure you're patched to v1.4
A huge amount of work went into that patch for multiplay.

And for some other Far Cry MP goodness you may be interested in...
ned's blog - FAQ How do I get coloured letters in my name?
ned's blog - nedFARCRY [2v2 ASSAULT] server pack
-for after you get bored with Deathmatch-
Ned is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +11. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0