Review: Ducky DK 9008 Mechanical Keyboard (Cherry Red switches)

Reviewed by inoshiro | 15 April 2012
Genre: | Publisher: Ducky | Developer: Ducky
TOG Score
Members (av.)
The Good
  • Study & well constructed
  • Cherry mx red – Great for gaming!
  • Key rollover is 6 (USB) & N (PS/2)
The Bad
  • Does not include macro keys
  • User cannot specify personal light brightness or key illumination settings
  • Price may be expensive for some..

Reviewed by white_bear_84
Cherry (Mx) Red switches for lower actuation forces and smoother/softer keystrokes

1. Unboxing and packaging..

For me, unboxing is like christmas, when you see the present for the first time and think “WOW, THIS IS AWESOME”, it’s the prelude of what is to come!! The Ducky DK 9008 was no exception! As soon as I clawed my way through the immense layers of bubble wrap provided by PC Case Gear I immediately felt I was dealing with a quality product and to be quite honest was considerably excited – it’s my first mechanical keyboard!

On opening, the DK 9008 was covered in a felt sleeve which enclosed the entire keyboard as well as plastic cover for the top of the board. Both great to have while the keyboard is idle to prevent debris or liquids ruining this fantastic looking keyboard! Enclosed with the board were replacement keys for WASD, a key remover and a copper (plated?) USB/PS2 cable.

2. First Impressions..

Well, when I first checked it out I didn’t even think about the backlighting (I’ll discuss this next!), I was immediately amazed at how soft the keystrokes were. I have never owned a mechanical keyboard, yet went for the brave and daring choice of selecting the Cherry Red mechanism. Check out this link for more details on each mechanism: Mechanical Keyboard Guide.

Cherry Red requires the lowest actuation force out of the Cherry selection and is exceptionally smooth and quite quiet (even though it’s mechanical!) The sound of the clicks though is marvellous! Each keystroke was exceptionally soft and light – not something everyone will love, but I found this was fantastic especially as I am focusing on gaming. Each set of keys has its own section so spillage on the F1-F4 keys is not going to dribble down in the rest of the board, this also makes the design look neat and smart.

image

3. Them ducks love Christmas!!

The coolest feature on the DK 9008 is the backlit text. Each of the 108 keys is individually backlit (in this case blue, but other colours are available) by a small LED under each key. They best part of all though is that you can control what is lit through 4 different settings as well as the 5 settings for brightness of the keyboard.. ..seriously, check out the pics below!!

image

4. Structure and performance

The DK 9008 is a very sturdy keyboard and weighs 1.2kg. The frame leaves little to the imagination, making this one of the smallest mechanical keyboards around – great if you’re after that bit of extra space! The keyboard is plug and play, the cable detachable and as mentioned previously comes with protective gear so it is easy to set up and move around. Using the function keys the user can control the volume, brightness of the keyboard and the light set up. There are also four shortcut buttons for the calculator, my computer, outlook and your web browser in the top right.

Underneath the keyboard are four slide DIP switches that can turn on certain functions such as locking the two windows keys, swapping the function of the windows key and alt key and swapping the caps and control keys can be quite a benefit during gaming! A channel is also provided for the USB/PS2 cable to allow you to choose where the cable sits. Legs are also present to provide a raise for the board.

The DK9008 is able to recognise multiple key presses at once and supports 6 key rollover + modifier keys e.g. shift/ctrl etc. Full key rollover is achieved using as PS/2 adapter meaning you can press however many keys you want and they will all register! This may be an area of contention as you can potentially do multiple things at once e.g. if you have Z as fire, X as zoom and Q as spot, pressing them together will zoom and fire simultaneously whilst also spotting your enemies. I’ll leave it for you to decide..

Also important for gaming is the ability to remove the keys! A key remover is supplied with the keyboards as well as replacement keys for WASD – unfortunately they don’t supply any other keys. So you can set up your gaming keys as you like.. ..provided you have the keys!

image

5. The wrap

While I personally have never used a mechanical keyboard before, my opinion may be biased on what I am used to or at least have so far experienced from the DK 9008. The actuation is soft and light, the illumination and basic constructions of the board are aesthetically appeasing and it really feels like I got my monies worth – not only does it look good but you can really feel the quality.

Cherry Red might not be the best for everyone, but I for one am sold. At AU$149 the price might put some off and the basic design might not fit all tastes, but I think this keyboard is cool and well worth the money paid. Some potential downsides - the lack of additional keys other than WASD, shortcut keys are not changeable and you cannot set your own light settings outside of what is provided (something that for the price, ducky could have integrated in the board design). But these are all minor, this baby rocks!

I’d rate it a solid 4.5 out 5

Join the discussion about this review in the TOG forums!  The Laboratory: Review Ducky DK 9008

What do you think of Review: Ducky DK 9008 Mechanical Keyboard (Cherry Red switches)?
Post a review below!

Member reviews

- Father |
| 26 April 2012

I will never for the life of me get why WASD became the standard set of keys for FPS and the likes, it makes NO SENSE! Reason 1: For anyone who can touch type you will have your index finger on the F key, making the WASD combo into an EDSF one, it feels natural and you have the little notch on the F key so you can feel where your fingers are on the keyboard. So anyone who touch types has to work against this standard positioning by shifting the left hand another set of keys. Reason 2: Using EDSF rather then WASD allows me to use my pinky for the QAZ keys more easily giving me extra keys in easy reach. So yes first thing I do in any type of game defaulting to WASD is changing the keys.

Corners - advocate8 |
| 28 April 2012

I used this recently and it is very similar to my Leopold 500CR keyboard. It seems less sturdy (pretty sure I could machine wash the Leopold) but trades this off in backlighting. Also, I am not 100% a Cherry Red fan, but I know lots of people who are! As an aside ... I dont see the point to backlighting - particularly as I play in a lit room these days. Bear in mind as well, if you cannot find your WASD keys in the dark, then you're probably not the key marked for a mech keyboard. Go buy something from Logitech. Solid product and maybe a little more pricey than its competitors but you can find it cheaper than listed.

Mechanical = win - Loony |
| 17 May 2012

I have the Happy Hacker and the Filco. Been using them both for about 10 years and won't use a mainstream keyboard ever again (icrosoft, razor, logitech etc). On average they last for 3-5 years before a key or 2 needs to be replaced. By which time I buy a new one. Only issue I have is the key lettering eventually wearing off because the KB lasts for so long... nothing else breaks before they wear down. Filco have released a version with the backlit lettering on the leading edge of the keys so its never touched but still visible. If you sit in front of a PC all day, do yourself a favour and try one out. For those that are really hardcore =) http://www.daskeyboard.com/model-s-ultimate/ Blank Keys, Gold-Plated Mechanical Switches

great review - Carm |
| 20 May 2012

I haven't tried it but enjoyed reading this review well done, it looks really good too I would kill for a backlit keyboard Father I am with you all the way except I go all the way to the other side of the keyboard as I have always found WASD just didn't feel right I completely see what you are saying with the EDSF wish I'd thought of that many moons ago so I don't have to do full customisations on every game

- Thermal Ions |
| 3 July 2012

I found it interesting that it's your first mechanical keyboard. I've never owned anything but a mechanical, although given my current keyboard started out with a 386SX that's probably not that surprising. It still works fine and I've never liked the feel of any non-mechanical ones that I've been forced to use over the years at work. Given the apparent resurgence (or at least more main-streaming) of mechanical keyboards for gaming in recent times, I've been thinking of updating to something a bit more gaming oriented. Just have to find a price point that makes me feel the move is value for money (and not better spent bumping up my next graphics card purchase to a better model instead).

Got it - used it - great - Maddob ClanOfOne |
| 21 March 2013

I have an MX Brown version as I also do a lot of typing for work. It's a bit "clickier" than the red but works like a charm for me. Now I end up *sighing* every time I try and use the computers at work as the keyboards feel so spongy. Good review of a great keyboard. And just to remind people that they can have their choice of MX keys and of backlighting although I've gone same as you - White For The Win!

- DrDamage |
| 16 May 2013

Great review, I like the look and the backlighting. I have a corsair vengeance k60 and it doesnt have the backlight feature - but it is a mech kb and has a really nice solid cast Aliminium Base which I like. Could do with a couple more USB though. I had previously bought a cyborg V7 - Worst KB ever! Stick with the mech keys people! Not the plastic fanstastic "Gaming" stuff out there.

- bestech |
| 2 July 2013

We are a customer oriented organisation and we believe in putting our best foot forward in our journey to pinnacle.
3c projects in gurgaon
Unitech projects in gurgaon
Ireo golf course extn
Bestech projects in gurgaon

- ahmed2 |
| 11 July 2013

Well, when I first checked it out I didn’t usajobs resume builder even think about the backlighting (I’ll discuss this next!), I was immediately amazed at how soft the keystrokes were.

- liammadison860 |
| 24 July 2013

Seems to be a good guide and I will try to follow your advice. I am impressed! Great job! yacht charter france

- liammadison860 |
| 24 July 2013

also I am sure that with some updates we can have a perfect keyboard. property mallorca

- ahmed2 |
| 29 July 2013

I know that you explain it very well. And I hope that other readers will also experience how I feel after reading best dissertations your article. I feel very grateful that I read this. It is very helpful and very informative and I really learned a lot from it.

- ahmed2 |
| 17 August 2013

Properly, as i initial checked out the idea out My spouse and i didn’t possibly consider the backlighting (I’ll focus on this specific subsequent! ), essayontime.com My spouse and i had been quickly stunned from just how soft the particular keystrokes have been.

Very impressive - Joyayib |
| 16 September 2013

I will definetely come back agen bola | agen sbobet | prediksi bola | liga champion | bola tangkas | casino sbobet | 338a | mobile gadget best buy to see more.

great article - debrasantorini |
| 8 October 2013

Choose the kind of Bedding sets that meets your requirements. If you're looking at Bedding sets, decide whether you want black-and-white colored sheets or a comforter in that pattern. Do you want black Bedding sets with a zebra throw or another accessory, like curtains, pillows, or rug? Consider psychological effects when choosing paint colors. When choosing accessories to go with your Bedding sets, think about what mood you want to create with it. If you want a relaxing, calming effect, you should consider green and blue shades, but a more bold, striking mood can be created with reds and oranges. If you want a room that's made for sleeping, you may want to stick with the traditional Bedding sets colors. Pay attention to the details in your room and repeat patterns you've created, if possible. What makes a great decorating style is the decorator's attention to details. You can't just throw zebra rugs around without any thought. You may want to add a zebra rug next to the bed to accentuate any style of Bedding sets you've selected. That same pattern can be introduced into throws, light fixtures, or curtains.

- fotgs |
| 25 October 2013

Now it is the time to invite the entire guest for wedding toast at the end of the father of the bride speech. Lift your glass and say the right words in honor of your daughter with a lot of depth in feelings http://www.fatherofthebridespeech.biz/

wow - dupa |
| 30 October 2013

Ducky DK 9008 Mechanical Keyboard definitely is a very good keyboard. One of the best ones as a matter of fact for this price. It is worth every penny. Derivate

- fotgs |
| 4 November 2013

Diagnostic ultrasound procedures have become more important in recent years. This means that there are great employment prospects for ultrasound experts in private and public medical establishments. The exact ultrasound technician salary for the qualified professional will depend on experience, qualification/certification and the employer of the sonographer. www.ultrasoundtechniciansalarys.com

- fotgs |
| 5 November 2013

The phlebotomist salary is really high in the region in and around New York. For the other cities it is a different case. The salary can be calculated on a different structure for the different sort of the profession but all are oriented to the same blood sampling technique

Info - evan6112 |
| 29 November 2013

The Ducky DK9008 Shine II mechanical keyboard is a great keyboard for gaming and typing. Equiped with Brown Cherry MX switches, this Full Size mechanical keyboard will up your game and reduce the finger strain caused by rubber dome keyboards. empleosenguadalajara.com.mx

- ahmed2 |
| 13 December 2013

Well, whereas I alpha checked it absent I didn’t unruffled weigh about the backlighting (I’ll confer this following!), I was instantly amazed at how subdued the keystrokes were. estate agent web design

- ahmed2 |
| 13 December 2013

I am just delighted to get your unique useful methods of producing this particular distribute. Currently allen gabriel vancouver wa a person make a choice in purchase to turned out to be simple should you be to discover as well as apply the thought. Appreciate it while using the distribute.

Great post - sara10 |
| 19 December 2013

A very wonderful article. It touches a lot of urgent issues of our society. We can not be indifferent to these problems. This article gives good ideas and concepts. Keep it up make your own iphone 5 cases

An interesting article - sara10 |
| 7 January 2014

This is the very good idea! Just want to say thank you for information, Just continue to the write such a position. I will be your faithful reader. Thank you again. gazduire web romania

hi - jhon321 |
| 14 January 2014

this looks like be awesome keyboard thumbs up for great work. Web Design Manchester web design service.

- aoi374u |
| 15 January 2014

To deliver a wonderful speech, you have to add humor to it. In order to do that, you must use just good jokes, without insulting any person, read more in this article. Giving a father of the groom wedding speech is way better if it is uniquely structured. To nail your speech, just don’t say the things that are already mentioned by some other speakers. However, you can add your own ideas to things that the prior speakers have said.

- dtt6gao |
| 10 February 2014

Hi there, I found your website via Google whilst looking for a comparable matter, your web site came up, it seems to be good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks bavaria cruiser 40

- kim90 |
| 16 February 2014

How much the price ? Harga HP Samsung and Harga Oppo N1 2014

- kim90 |
| 16 February 2014

. I dont see the point to backlighting - particularly as I play in a lit room these days. Bear in mind as well, if you cannot find your WASD keys in the dark, then you're probably not the key marked for a mech keyboard. Go buy something from Logitech. Harga HP Samsung and Harga Oppo N1

Pytyl - dekazyn |
| 19 February 2014

When sensing to buy a mechanical keyboard, there can be sometimes an collection overload. To realise why you condition to conceive before purchasing one, we moldiness face at where they beam. Their applications arrive direct from their implicit qualities, these keyboards use high-quality switches that are rated for between 20 and 50 1000000 key-strokes. Dewa Poker,Texas Holdem Poker,Poker Online,Permainan Poker,Texas Poker,Poker Online Indonesia,Zynga Poker,Poker Uang Asli They enjoin a concordant descending deed strength and furnish an unpaired property. Thence, these keyboards are utterly suited for situations that enjoin long-term uninterrupted use, and areas that expect hurried unfaltering action. This carves out two specialty individual groups, recent professionals and play enthusiasts.

Dewa Poker - dekazyn |
| 19 February 2014

The elementary, nonfat striking of the Nonhuman Keyboard is careful to get brio easier, giving you author term and Dewa Poker,Poker Online,Zynga Poker,FB Poker push to lessen on your business or strategy.

Xyco Mybokapo - dekazyn |
| 19 February 2014

Machinelike keyboards are the incoming turn in technology. Astonishingly, they possess nearly ever been around, smooth dating hind to the now famous IBM Interpret M. They screw had a revitalisation in popularity in past age, achievement audiences from application professionals to play enthusiasts. sbobet,ibcbet,agen bola ,agen bola Terpercaya,Jasa SEO Profesional,Jasa SEO,Harga Jasa SEO Profesional,Jasa SEO Murah,Pakar SEO You might be asking what a machine keyboard is, and why it's so specific. Wellspring, a machine keyboard is one that uses nonhuman key-switches. To realize why this is consequential, let's lie at most unrefined screen keyboards.

Zycyn Tikudep - dekazyn |
| 19 February 2014

When sensing to buy a windup keyboard, there can be sometimes an aggregation load. To read why you status to canvass before buying one, we moldiness sensing at where they hap. Their applications arrive straight from their inherent qualities, agen bola terpercaya,agen bola online,agen bola sbobet,agen ibcbet Online these keyboards use high-quality switches that are rated for between 20 and 50 cardinal key-strokes. They order a ordered descending actuation validness and provide an unmatched uniformness. Hence, these keyboards are dead suited for situations that expect long-term uninterrupted use, and areas that order excitable unfaltering show. This carves out two specialty someone groups, recent professionals and play enthusiasts.

Vozyhe Eaha - dekazyn |
| 19 February 2014

If you are a gamer, you mortal got to get the Razer Blackwidow, it is one of the superior new play keyboards on the industry. It out performs the Tarantula and leaves the reference keyboards in the detritus. jasa seo,jasa seo murah,jasa seo profesional,jasa seo murah bergaransi,jasa seo terpercaya,Jasa SEO Indonesia,Pakar SEO If you bask diversion you individual got to try this keyboard. There is a newer simulate of this keyboard titled the Razer Blackwidow Crowning - Dragon Age II.

MuzMigamu Aizicieu - dekazyn |
| 19 February 2014

Are you thinking nigh purchase a nonhuman keyboard? If so, are you wondering whether they're worth the superfluous money? When examination the inactive scraunch of a key pushing on the cypher keyboards of today, zip can study to the answering feedback of a mechanic keyboard. Dissimilar eraser bowl keyboards or membrane keyboards, machine keyboards are higher propertied, ultimate ten present thirster, are much sensitive, and pay a solid feedback. http://mobilsuv2012.wordpress.com http://janvinsu.blogspot.com http://bests-forex-trading-softwares.blogspot.com http://sucipto82.blogdetik.com http://update-seputar-software.blogspot.com http://fevinsu.blogspot.com http://soal2online.blogspot.com http://sucipto123.livejournal.com http://seputarsoftware.typepad.com http://hargamobilsuv.bravesites.com http://sucipto.newsvine.com http://simplyalifestyle.blogspot.com http://jasaseomurah.blog.co.uk http://jasaseomurahan.devhub.com http://gambarmobilsuv.edublogs.org

great - darki |
| 25 February 2014

For me, unboxing is like christmas, when you see the present for the first time and think “WOW, THIS IS AWESOME”, it’s the prelude of what is to come!! The Ducky DK 9008 was no exception! torrent movies As soon as I clawed my way through the immense layers of bubble wrap provided by PC Case Gear I immediately felt I was dealing with a quality product and to be quite honest was considerably excited

Great Post - renata75 |
| 6 March 2014

*I discovered your blog site on google and check a few of your early posts. Gazduire

- renata75 |
| 6 March 2014

You made some decent points there. I looked on the internet for the issue and found most individuals will go along with with your website. Just Air Ipad Case

- sara10 |
| 15 March 2014

*This is the right blog for anyone who wants to find out about this topic. You realize so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Great stuff, just great!gazduire web ieftina

- sara10 |
| 15 March 2014

*Oh my goodness! an amazing article dude. Thank you However I am experiencing issue with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting identical rss problem? Anyone who knows kindly respond. Thnkxpersonalized gifts

It shows how well you - victorarnold85 |
| 18 March 2014

This is the very good idea! Just want to say thank you for information, Logo Design Just continue to the write such a position. I will be your faithful reader. Life Experience Degrees

tempat wisata di pulau lombok - hussainhayden |
| 23 March 2014

This is exactly what I was looking for. Thanks for sharing this great article! That is very interesting Smile I love reading and I am always searching for informative information like this! tempat wisata di pulau lombok

bbb - waynedavies222 |
| 23 April 2014

Además de un cambio en la Replicas de relojes apariencia de los elementos tratados que le dan un color antracita/negro, "el Relojes tag heuer PVD ofrece una mejora significativa en la resistencia cero en comparación con el acero original" asegura la marca en Omega seamaster su comunicado. Y agrega: "el tipo 23 confirma su vocación de pieza altamente robusto capaz de satisfacer a la mayoría de los.

Link building and its importan - muneer ahmed |
| 28 April 2014

For indoor rowing fitness, the Concept2 Model D Indoor seated row machine is the best machine to use. It has a number of unique features which are not available on other rowing machines. Link building and its importance

- robin1122 |
| 28 April 2014

Thanks for Sharing.. urlopner

A very nice article - sub_anseo |
| 1 May 2014

A very nice article to read, and I will share Agen Sbobet | Agen Bola | Taruhan Bola thank you.

great post - johngflynn657 |
| 9 May 2014

Informative post! Article I shared is definitely worth reading (and sharing). Btw. amazing content here at theoldergamers.com; bank-i-danmark.dk laan-info.dk loan-reviews.net finansielle-raadgivere.dk

Great Information - bryanparker |
| 28 May 2014

Finally, an article with real substance on this subject! I am glad I found this material. Your a quality writer with unique talent and original thoughts. This is excellent work. Professional Degree i Online Professional Degree

Excellent Post - JimmyAnderson |
| 28 May 2014

This blog is a collaboration between professional designers from across the globe, making it a great platform to help you keep tabs on the entire industry. Logo Design I Animated Videos

Need to get the DK 9008 asap! - Arnold87 |
| 31 May 2014

Great review! I love these keyboards and wanting to get this version soon. I have the previous version of the DK 9008 but I am finding it that it is starting to become too old for the modern games I am trying to get it to play with. Arnold

2014 gmc yukon release date - andrewcarpenterz |
| 3 June 2014

This blog is a collaboration between professional designers from across the globe, 2014 gmc yukon release date

Great - techmanixx |
| 16 June 2014

I´m searching for this kind of stuff since ages!!! Great!!!! Great!!!!Job

wow ... this is a very good ar - sub_anseo |
| 27 June 2014

wow ... this is a very good article and useful, allow me to share it, I will try to share this link for our mutual benefit. Agen Bola | STARBALL88 | Agen Sbobet | Prediksi Bola | Berita Bola | Prediksi Skor | Prediksi Bola | Prediksi Bola | Agen Poker Online | Judi Poker Online thank you.

- pslass |
| 28 June 2014

banheira jacuzzi This info was saving me now! Thanks for sharing.

- moro7 |
| 7 July 2014

amazing i like it so much The newest and best games gathered on 1 website العاب تنظيف المنزل best Super Mario Bros game for you to play and download لعبة ماريو all of your favorite download games here تحميل العاب Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas لعبة جاتا FREE ONLINE GAME SHOWS. Loading Win One Million لعبة من سيربح المليون Zuma Deluxe Game Download for PC! لعبة زوما

- bet2indo |
| 11 July 2014

Very good and informative post, give us reviews and descriptions and how to use the game. Call of duty can be played in Single player mode and Multiplayer. Keep up the good work. Agen Bola | Bandar Bola | Taruhan Bola, Agen Online Terbaik Indonesia

Write a review

 You must be logged in to post a review.

Poll: How much time do you game each week?

Popular articles

Popular videos

Courtesy of Gametrailers.com | Top 20 »