BF3 Video Feature

Discussion in 'Battlefield (Public)' started by Jakob_Pavlov, May 28, 2011.

  1. DougB

    DougB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    27
    I thought that to, I tried to find any info on it but couldn't, so I am probably wrong. But the maps that had longer draw distances (Wake comes to mind) had less to render/draw. And I think that Wake was released in a patch, so maybe the engine was a bit better optimised. Thats pure speculation of course, but in the BF:BC2 Vietnam expansion, Dice said it was better optimised because they had more time with the engine by the time it was released.

    I would like to see some dynamic weather in maps, like a dust storm rolling in. Something like that would probably make it harder to fly and spot enemies on the ground. Which imo, wouldn't be that bad a thing to do...
     
  2. maddog2204

    maddog2204 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,764
    Likes Received:
    510
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    (8:07) Rush mode will definitely be in the game.
     
  3. Milt

    Milt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Adelaide "The city of Bizzare Murders"
    No dust storms means high end processing power. Old systems will really struggle with this
     
  4. Binary-Ninja

    Binary-Ninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    19,574
    Likes Received:
    1,682
    Location:
    On my Mac in TOG Forums
    i think it will as well and most likely require a modern quad core to run .. even the older Q series Intel like a Q6600 , Q9650 might struggle
     
  5. Alpha_Au

    Alpha_Au Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,259
    Likes Received:
    629
    Location:
    Australia
    Upgrades can't be a bad thing though. :)
     
  6. wpwolf69

    wpwolf69 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    palmerston north new zealand
    Damn it i will need a new os as I am running xp at the moment.That will teach me for being a tight arse and not buying windows 7 with my last build!!!!!:oops:
     
  7. Rica

    Rica Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Townsville, Queensland
    Unless you get it on console then it'll be running smooth as all the time :p

    sure it has less peeps per side and slightly smaller maps, but I don't have a PC anymore Just a Macbook, iMac and have both consoles. I think the M$box will win it out for me.

    I was thinking about the duststorms too and as it is only pre-alpha or whatever they called it, it may still make it's way in and have a better more realistic dust up ;)
     
    Alpha_Au likes this.
  8. Binary-Ninja

    Binary-Ninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    19,574
    Likes Received:
    1,682
    Location:
    On my Mac in TOG Forums
    lol who plays a FPS on a console :) .... and i'l be runnign it on my imac ... Rica if you have one of the newer imac 2010 or 2011 with the modern quad core you should be fine ... just have to set up Windows under bootcamp
     
    Alpha_Au likes this.
  9. DougB

    DougB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    27
    Eewwww.... an imac :). Just kidding, what are imacs like to game on (availability of titles etc.)?
     
  10. Lighty

    Lighty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Geelong
    upgrades wont be need with unless you have been tight for the past 3 years. Any system decent system built the last 12 month wont have an issue.

    Fog, smoke dust storm? It'll all be turn off by the kiddies and you, yes you wanting to make it feel like your there? YOU will get pawned. lol

    If they bring back the eyrx YOUR ALL F$%KED :)
     
    Alpha_Au likes this.
  11. Binary-Ninja

    Binary-Ninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    19,574
    Likes Received:
    1,682
    Location:
    On my Mac in TOG Forums

    Any of the last 2 gen iMacs run high end hardware equal to PC 's now actually the thunderbolt tech for second monitors and external drives was ahead of the PC ....they use same desktop CPU as PC i5 , i7 and the newer 2011 ones run Sandy Bridge CPU which are very fast ... they have also run a hybrid GPU it is not laptop GPU but not the full card type as desktop ones in PC .. They are upgradeable in last 2 gens of iMacs so you could swap this card into the older series...

    Doug go to my post # 28 and see youtube clips on the same 27" as mine and the older one running games
    ..
    The older ATi 5 series card gets 30 - 40 fps in Metro 2033 when all on high at 2560 x 1440 and the newer macs get 80 + in most games in the normal 1920 res bfbc2 , portal 2 , crysis 2 etc..

    http://www.theoldergamers.com/forum/laboratory/362821-my-pc-no-longer-3.html

    The advantage of this is the Imacs can run Windows 7 just like it does on PC ..... as a secondary bootable O/S for games when i need as they are Intel based CPU's.. You just have to adjust the res to suit as 2560 x 1440 on the 27 " screen is a ridiculous res to run in a game...
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2011
  12. SpartanGrug

    SpartanGrug Retired Captain

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Colac, VIC
    To be honest, I think the speed of whatever core you get will be the bigger decider. I honestly don't think there is too much difference between the dual vs quad cores for single application usage at the moment. If your processor is running around the 3Ghz mark you should be ok. Extra cores are handy for keeping the background apps away from your primary gaming pipeline but with the way applications are coded - not many are able to scale up to use all cores available.

    That said I have an Intel i5-2500 (3.3GHz which jumps up to 3.8Ghz when needed - not sure how that works :p ), 8GB RAM, MSI GTX560 1Gb Twin Frozr and Win7 64bit.
    Currently run BC2 max'ed with 16xAF and 16xAA @1920x1080 V-Sync on with all smooth performance. :)
     
  13. BaRRaS

    BaRRaS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,109
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Cairns, Tropical Far North Queensland
    Now?
     
    Rica likes this.
  14. Purg

    Purg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,627
    Likes Received:
    373
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    The verdict is in...

     
    Rica likes this.
  15. Redgum

    Redgum Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    534
    Location:
    Moore Creek NSW Member 16162
    that was so bad it was great! Thanks Purg
     
  16. Binary-Ninja

    Binary-Ninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    19,574
    Likes Received:
    1,682
    Location:
    On my Mac in TOG Forums
    lol still needed to be a pic of bobby kottick
     
  17. Reoh

    Reoh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    16,737
    Likes Received:
    861
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Oh, I thought that was a pic of him being excreted...
     

Share This Page