[Borderlands] Co-op Bandwidth?

Discussion in 'Shooter Games: The Range' started by Unknown, Oct 25, 2009.

  1. Unknown

    Unknown Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,397
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Sydney (NSW, AU)
    Has anyone read/heard anything about how much uplink capacity will be required for someone hosting a Borderlands co-op game? Primarily interested in PC of course, but I guess the issue could be relevant also to XBox360 and PS3 players...
     
  2. Chief

    Chief Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,014
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I trawled the gearbox forums the other day looking for info but it seems there's no official response to the question and all the console players who have it are too busy playing to check :p

    There's been no issues for Aussies with the 360/PS3 versions, so I assume the PC version will be fine. My upload speed seems to be pretty pathetic, not sure what the average is though.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Unknown

    Unknown Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,397
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Sydney (NSW, AU)
    Fingers crossed in that case! :)

    (Later...)

    On average uplink speeds, that site claims for Australia the tested breakdown by region is:


    • NT - 1.52Mbps
    • ACT - 0.94 Mbps
    • NSW - 0.68 Mbps
    • WA - 0.66 Mbps
    • SA - 0.65 Mbps
    • VIC - 0.59 Mbps
    • TAS - 0.55 Mbps
    • QLD - 0.49 Mbps

    As always, YMMV, take with the requisite grains of salt, etc.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2009
  4. Drac

    Drac Squad Officer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,913
    Likes Received:
    641
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    WTF?


    Here's mine, but I never get good results from that test site:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2009
  5. Unknown

    Unknown Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,397
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Sydney (NSW, AU)
    Smaller population, closer to the exchange? Or just fewer people from NT using the SpeedTest site thus keeping the average up? I dunno...

    Yeah, the results are always compromised in some way - but then again, that's the nature of traffic crossing the Internet anyway so in that sense, it's probably not a bad indicator of potential performance/experience.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  6. Reoh

    Reoh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    861
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I run a 4 player COD5 co-op without issue (Sydney, ADSL2+ connection with fairly "average" upload capacity, nothing special). Not sure how comparable Borderlands will be, not until we get our hands on the PC version unlocked to play.
     
  7. theZee

    theZee Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6,649
    Likes Received:
    427
    Location:
    Sydney/AUS
    I'm in Sydney.

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  8. Isthiriel

    Isthiriel Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    I think the test LIES. It overestimated my download speed a touch and underestimated my upload by a factor of two. (ie. ~730Kbps sync speed, ~65KBps in most applications and speedtest.net said 0.36MBps.)

    If you've got ADSL2/+ or full ADSL1 (ie. not Telstra 8000/384 :cry: ) then you should have an upload speed of 50+KBps.

    Source games at their most bandwidth-hungry suck down about 30KBps each (ie. rate=30000)*. I don't know how that compares with the BL engine ofc.


    [*] I recently had the opportunity to test this by playing a three-player L4D campaign that turned out to be hosted on my PC :( Everyone else's ping was ~100ms instead of ~50ms. Otherwise it wasn't really noticeable.
     
  9. Thermal Ions

    Thermal Ions Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,185
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Central Queensland
    Will be interesting to see whether we have to do any juggling of who hosts when we get together.

    My results

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    LOL, don't believe the < 50 mi distance to Brisbane though - it's actually closer to 950 km
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2009
  10. C4

    C4 Retired Captain

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,016
    Likes Received:
    261
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    If your upload is around the 0.6 - 0.8Mbs mark, you should have no problem hosting 4 player. Its only the capped upload connections that may have issues.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2009
  11. Powello

    Powello Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Ballarat
    Here's mine, prolly a bit slow to host :(
    [​IMG]
     
  12. bork

    bork Getting Started

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Heh.. I just tested from here at work :O

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Reoh

    Reoh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    861
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Noooo I've been shaped! Curse those Justin.tv streams of borderlands!

    *falls to his knees, beating at the ground and sobbing*
     
  14. Drac

    Drac Squad Officer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,913
    Likes Received:
    641
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Dang!
     
  15. wHiTeRaSTa

    wHiTeRaSTa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    CoffsCoast
    [​IMG]

    Should be fine here then..:)
     
  16. MrWizard

    MrWizard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    365
    Location:
    Sale, Gippsland, Victoria, Australia
    Geepers Im pretty happy with my connection looking at what some of you are getting

    [​IMG]

    and im about 250kms from Melbourne (this is the office one, ill test the gaming one in a sec and post)

    and heres the other connnection
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2009
  17. Reoh

    Reoh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    861
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    [​IMG]

    Kiss my shaping :(
     
  18. theZee

    theZee Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6,649
    Likes Received:
    427
    Location:
    Sydney/AUS
    :biglaughat:
     
  19. Thermal Ions

    Thermal Ions Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,185
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Central Queensland
    Look on the bright side, you're not being shaped quite to dial up speeds.

    Time to buy an extra data block I'm thinking or we'll all be 30 levels ahead of you. Or is the plan then to simulate a MMORPG and spam chat for a 'run through of (insert instance/quest here)' ;)
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2009
  20. Drac

    Drac Squad Officer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,913
    Likes Received:
    641
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    TPG don't do datablocks.
     

Share This Page