[Borderlands] Co-op Bandwidth?

Discussion in 'Shooter Games: The Range' started by Unknown, Oct 25, 2009.

  1. Thermal Ions

    Thermal Ions Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,185
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Central Queensland
    You'd quite likely be right with 4 Mixa. Been playing over the weekend and on my reported 0.21 Mb/s could host 3 ok, but started lagging when we got 4 online.

    Based upon that I'm suspecting that to host you'd want a minimum ISP advertised upload of:

    4 players - - 384k
    3 players - - 256k
    2 players - - 256k (anyone tried to host 2 player game on 128k?)

    Edit: Assuming separate voice app running (e.g. ventrillo)

    Of course, YMMV. ;)
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2009
    Jakob_Pavlov likes this.
  2. Reoh

    Reoh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    861
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    [​IMG]

    My download speed is miserable. :(
    But I can host Co-ops just fine! :)
     
  3. Snott

    Snott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    UTC+12 New Zealand
    [​IMG]
    Tested to near mates who I play with are, not too bad.
     
  4. Getafix

    Getafix Retired Captain

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    327
    Location:
    Melbourne
    [​IMG]

    Hmm. Looks pretty good actually. Telstra cable. It's just a pity it's Telstra... *shudder*
     
  5. Thermal Ions

    Thermal Ions Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,185
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Central Queensland
    "Obscene" was the word that came to my mind ;)
     
  6. Derelict

    Derelict Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    7,815
    Likes Received:
    167
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    My modem connects with a 384kbps upload speed.

    I hosted an evening's game of 4 players on Friday night with no complaints from anyone about lag.

    What I have in real question though is how much data does hosting a game download each hour?
     
  7. Reoh

    Reoh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    861
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    So my co-op hosting was working fine, no problems. Now suddenly everyone is timing out again and I can't seem to get it towrk anymore. )=

    (PS - Derelict, your avatar defies the law's of physics!)
     
  8. Derelict

    Derelict Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    7,815
    Likes Received:
    167
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    My avatar rocks. If I could rep myself purely for my avatar alone I would. And often! :p

    I've been rooting around the web for some of my time today looking for the info on how much data the game might consume when hosting per hour but nothing yet.
     
    Reoh likes this.
  9. Thermal Ions

    Thermal Ions Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,185
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Central Queensland
    Didn't host tonight, but playing in a 3 player game I got the following approximate figures per hour:
    Download - 11.4 Mb
    Upload - 3.2 Mb

    Will post some figures if I host.
     
  10. Derelict

    Derelict Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    7,815
    Likes Received:
    167
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Took a note of my bandwidth and network monitor tonight.

    I hosted a 4 player game and we played from about 7:45pm till about 10pm. (2 and a bit hours)

    I used Ventrilo for voice communications at the same time.
    Upload: 141MB
    Download: 74MB

    At a rough guess I'd say then cater for about a 70MB upload and 35MB download per hour with this game as a host.
     

Share This Page