[Borderlands] Good hosts.

Discussion in 'Shooter Games: The Range' started by Justin Kace, Oct 30, 2009.

  1. Justin Kace

    Justin Kace Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    New Plymouth, New Zealand
    It appears that frustrating levels of lag can be the name of the game with four players going at it. Could we get a list of people with nice fat upload speeds so we know who to bug if we want a host that can run the game well?

    I have 512 up but I also have a machine that overheats semi regularly and reboots. Not the best for hosting with. :(
     
  2. Reoh

    Reoh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    861
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    FYI the world will reflect the host and their level/quests to do.
     
  3. Bawheidbob

    Bawheidbob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,057
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Scotland
    Yuk i have a not so good connection so any games i want to host will suck eggs, glad i saw this thread just before i was going to order game. Will not bother now.
     
  4. Justin Kace

    Justin Kace Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    New Plymouth, New Zealand
    RTC don't miss out on this awesome game just because of that! You can alway play on someone elses host and the game is just brilliant! Even single player is a real blast.
     
  5. Reoh

    Reoh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    861
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Even with some teething issues, this game is madly fun and addictive. :)
     
  6. wHiTeRaSTa

    wHiTeRaSTa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    CoffsCoast
    Sure is, still only played single player but yeah, good fun. :)
     
  7. Unknown

    Unknown Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,397
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Sydney (NSW, AU)
    When you look up and wonder, "Where have the past few hours gone?!" you know you've been playing Borderlands too much. :oops:
     
  8. Mighty Brush

    Mighty Brush Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes Received:
    108
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    I can only host through hamachi, but I have enough upload.
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2009
  9. Paulie_Walnuts

    Paulie_Walnuts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,691
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Melbourne.
    I have 1024 up (adsl2+) and it seems quite smooth when I host.
     
  10. Unknown

    Unknown Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,397
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Sydney (NSW, AU)
    Based on experiences amongst some of us...

    If you have roughly 256Kbps uplink, you can handle two people (includes the host), three people if you're lucky, but four is a non-starter (lag too noticeable) - this assumes you simultaneously have an external voice application running. As soon as any other users/applications touch your link (other family members browsing the Web, for example), however, the lag will become pronounced.

    If you have roughly 1Mbps uplink, you can handle all four people (plus external voice application).

    Assumptions in the above experiences - game all on PCs, no VPN at all, voice app was Ventrilo.
     
    Jakob_Pavlov likes this.
  11. Avoozl

    Avoozl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    stuck in the middle with you
    Just to add: I've got 1.5Mb upstream here and it seems to work fine when I host.. absent the other-side-of-the-earth ping issues of course. :)
     

Share This Page