Building Settlements

Discussion in 'Fallout 4 (Public)' started by Starjack, Nov 16, 2015.

  1. Starjack

    Starjack Elite Dangerous: Vice Division Captain

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,978
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    Redcliffe, Queensland, Australia
    Anybody worked out how to get cattle?

    Don't seem to be able to attract them.
     
  2. Bru1zer

    Bru1zer Guardian Division Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,480
    Likes Received:
    174
    Location:
    Sydney
    Tried a bathtub?
     
  3. Randm Pixlz

    Randm Pixlz Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Dubbo
    Settlements, my bane. I build a nice big fort. And that's where it all went wrong. Stupid enemy doesn't path to the doors and my ubber kill zone. Or they decide, "Screw you Pixlz!" and spawn inside my base.

    Hours, wasted. Now I have to redesign to something more simplistic for raider AI.
     
  4. Starjack

    Starjack Elite Dangerous: Vice Division Captain

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,978
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    Redcliffe, Queensland, Australia
    Yes.

    It may take time. Its took a while for Settlers to come to the base after I built the beacon, may take longer for cattle.
     
  5. LavaCaverns

    LavaCaverns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2015
  6. BishopNZ

    BishopNZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    I stumbled across a travelling NPC that offered to sell me a braham (not sure on the spelling).

    From memory it was 100 caps for one.
     
  7. Bru1zer

    Bru1zer Guardian Division Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,480
    Likes Received:
    174
    Location:
    Sydney
    From my testing.

    "Size" is pertaining to the amount of structures you can build, most likely capped due to consile memory constraints.

    Max number of settlers is 10 + your charisma level.

    Guard posts therefore in my eyes are a waste of a settler, better off assigning someone to artillery.

    Best results for me have been to link farms and have one type of crop at each for adhesive.

    One settlement based solely on shops with high yield food.

    One settlement with only one settler to link trade where all my companions are.
     
  8. DarkDuck

    DarkDuck Minecraft Division Captain

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    209
    the settlers and cattle literally "walk" across the map, I found 6 heading my way (settlers) followed em cause I was bored and yups, after 45 mins they wandered into and set up in one of my settlements lol
     
  9. Starjack

    Starjack Elite Dangerous: Vice Division Captain

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,978
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    Redcliffe, Queensland, Australia
    What happens when there is fence around the settlement? I better go check the outside!
     
  10. Bru1zer

    Bru1zer Guardian Division Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,480
    Likes Received:
    174
    Location:
    Sydney
    [​IMG]
     
  11. Binary-Ninja

    Binary-Ninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    19,574
    Likes Received:
    1,681
    Location:
    On my Mac in TOG Forums
    Well as long as you have a trained guard dog you will be okay

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Starjack

    Starjack Elite Dangerous: Vice Division Captain

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,978
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    Redcliffe, Queensland, Australia
    Anybody had problems with protecting a settlment?

    I have a miscellaneous mission to protect sunshine springs coop, I go there and nothing happens, I leave, and get a message I have failed and lose settlers.

    I reload, go to settlement, walk around outside, find two raiders, kill them, leave area, failed...

    I don't get a end mission message.
     
  13. Binary-Ninja

    Binary-Ninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    19,574
    Likes Received:
    1,681
    Location:
    On my Mac in TOG Forums
    Yep same here i have a few like that and i had a part of quest in Jamaica Plains to clear a certain area .. I go there and nothing around to clear .. Not sure why ? prob bugs
     
  14. LavaCaverns

    LavaCaverns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Found out the hard way that a minute men missions are timed...

    The ones calling for help that is, not the clear area and set up
     
  15. Starjack

    Starjack Elite Dangerous: Vice Division Captain

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,978
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    Redcliffe, Queensland, Australia
    I liked this video, it shows how to build the tree house.
     
  16. LavaCaverns

    LavaCaverns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia


    Never even thought about using the concrete foundation...

    Guess i will have to build my own fortress now :)
     
  17. Randm Pixlz

    Randm Pixlz Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Dubbo
    Since I restarted in Survival mode, I totally ignored Sanctuary and instead built a small home at Red Rocket Servo. Threw up a few turrets, built mostly on the roof and keep my unused companions as guards.

    Settlers not welcome at my base! All they do is whine that's it's dirty, life is hard (no matter how many luxuries I provide) and all other nonsense.

    Any farm I happen to liberate that has settlers on it already, I just drop two heavy turrets and leave it at that, since any defense I build will be ignored by the settlers and they try to commit harry carry anyway.

    The best defense is an offense. Kill the raiders / ghouls or whatever before they even get close.
     
  18. Binary-Ninja

    Binary-Ninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    19,574
    Likes Received:
    1,681
    Location:
    On my Mac in TOG Forums
    I was at Sanctuary but it was so open as a base and i had been hit by raiders when i was out and about .. I am in process of moving it all over to Castle .. i have concreted in all the broken walls except for a small walk through ... Then i have 4 of the artillery guns in action with the 3 laser cannons facing the small open area ..
     
  19. Randm Pixlz

    Randm Pixlz Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Dubbo
    On my first play through, I kinda went over board with defense at The Castle. 4 laser, 4 missiles, 8 heavy guns and a few spotlights. Kinda glad I did though, since my first incursion was by Radscorpions.
     
  20. Starjack

    Starjack Elite Dangerous: Vice Division Captain

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,978
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    Redcliffe, Queensland, Australia
    Do these things spawn inside your base or attack from outside?

    I once fast traveled into Hangman's alley and there were 6 supermutants and about 4 Raiders in side with me.

    If I have all my turrets on the outside, as I did with this settlement, they are useless if the attackers spawn on the inside.

    But then Sunshine Coop was attacked twice from supermutants but they attacked from outside.
     

Share This Page