[Editorial] FPS games real but not real

Discussion in 'Shooter Games: The Range' started by Fox, Dec 27, 2004.

1. Fox

Fox Clown Administrator Administrator Moderator

I have been playing first person shooters (FPS) for many years, since Wolfenstein 3D and Doom were released and I've obviously played many FPS games since then. The list is long but the more obvious ones are Quake, Counter Strike, SWAT 3, Rainbow 6/Rogue Spear, Battlefield 1942, Vietcong, Battlefield Vietnam, World War II On-line, Planetside (futuristic MMO) and Call of Duty. I've played all these games in a multiplayer environment. Either as a lone-wolf on pubs, competitively on ladders in clans (TOG), or, with tongue-in-cheek, pretend to play competitively with fellow TOG members.

The thing that gets me with all these FPS games is that very few, if any, model or rely on real-world infantry tactics. By this, I mean team-work. In WWII, squad tactics were very much about suppression and flanking. Vietnam was about stealth and ambushing. Modern warfare is about surveilance followed by precise and deadly aggression. None of these things can be achieved by a lone player - no matter the skill level.

Why aren't these real-life strategies being incorporated into our games? Granted, some games are designed to be simple frag-fests and they live up to that splendidly (Doom/Quake). Some of the more modern games (Battlefield, Vietcong and Call of Duty) have a very strong multiplayer/teamwork option built into the game. Yet teamwork/squad tactics are still rarely seen when playing on-line with real people.