Looking for gamers in the military

Discussion in 'Contact TOG' started by CT2987, Aug 25, 2010.

1. CT2987

CT2987 Just Joined

Hi all,
    I am a journalist at Australian Associated Press in Sydney and I am looking for gamers who are, or have been, in the Australian military for a story. Names can be changed for the story.

As you would all know, many media reports on computer games contain a lot of hype from people who have very little knowledge about the topic. A recent example of this was an article on being able to play as the Taliban in the latest Medal Of Honour game.
    Dead soldiers' families outraged as EA allows gamers to fight for Taliban | News.com.au
    There were comments about it being disrespectful to our soldiers serving in Afghanistan but it lacked any comment from anyone in the army.
    I would like to get comment from someone in the army/previously in the army on this for my article.

Other topics that could be covered in the interview and article include:
    An R rating for games in Australia
    The effect of watching a violent movie v playing a violent game

I am very much interested in putting forward the actual perspective of gamers as I think this is lacking in a lot of the media coverage.

I know that you are probably all very skeptical about the media and I can see why but I am not out to make you look like "a crazy gamer" as I don't believe that is what most gamers are like.

If you are interested in participating or would like further information send me a message.

Thanks in advance!

2. ReaperSmurf

ReaperSmurf ARMA Captain

We have a few current and former ADF personnel. I'll put the word out and hopefully you'll get some responses.
    Not all of them are keen to discuss their past experiences tho'...

3. Kadyan

Kadyan Active Member

Edit: Withdrawn, since reading your story more carefully the scope of the interview seems to be broader than just the ruckus about Medal of Honor, which I'm pretty po'd about.