Medal of Honor: Airbourne (mainly demo chat)

Discussion in 'Shooter Games: The Range' started by Ned, May 19, 2006.

  1. YZ250

    YZ250 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    A Little Place in The Golden Triangle
    Can you guys give a more detailed review, I wont be downloading the demo for awhile, and whilst your comments are enlightening, they are only making me more curious.
     
  2. Briza

    Briza Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Central Coast NSW
    Very nice gameplay indeed, kicks the sh!t outta past MOH efforts.

    seems a bit sluggish though and a bit jumpy, maybe it's my settings but it's not easy to shoot somebody like in COD2.

    Everything maxed out @1440x900 i only get around 60-100fps on my 320mb 8800gts, it's also the first game to raise GPU temp above 55c reaching 65c after 1 hrs play.

    To me it's quite similar to COD with extra eye candy!
     
  3. Briza

    Briza Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Central Coast NSW
    After another session i noticed a few things, the game has a motion blurness and not laggy like first thought, and the more headshots you do you are rewarded with skill upgrades,weapon upgrades.
    So after a while the gun moves more freely, reload is quicker and there also seems to be less recoil.

    Maxed out with AA and AF, it looks really nice almost DX10ish - at least the way dx9 is supposed to look when at it's best.

    CAnt wait for mp to be released :)
     
  4. Striket

    Striket Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Singapore
  5. Ned

    Ned Public Forum Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,590
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Qld Australia
    damn thing doesn't like my system
    i have this guys problem
    Aghh! - Total Medal of Honor Airborne Forums


    i've updated to latest nvidia drivers
    any ideas?

    amd 2500+ xp barton overclocked
    1gb ram
    6800gt (defaults)

    runs bioshock with no probs
     
  6. Ned

    Ned Public Forum Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,590
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Qld Australia
    lol turned out to be a keyboard issue :confused:

    Medal of Honor: Airborne




    ^^ check that link for already released mods for the demo!

    • Airborne Demo Upgraded AI Mod
    • Airborne Demo Upgrade Mini-Mod




    edit: will give the game a good few hours later today and post back :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2007
  7. Striket

    Striket Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Singapore
    G15? That's what i'm using...didn't encounter any weird stuff though..maybe i'm too used to lag situations. And damn..there are mods out there already..that's fast.
     
  8. Ned

    Ned Public Forum Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,590
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Qld Australia
    well after finally getting to play the demo i have to say this is going to be a nice game


    for those who haven't looked at it yet

    • very generous on older systems
    no lag for me at all, played on default settings
    AMD 2500+ XP (overclocked)
    1GB RAM
    6800GT (defaults)
    • beautiful graphics, rivals CoD2
    • ironsights work well
    movement took a bit to get used to
    -can't move while using ironsights unless you press your Sprint / Ironsight Move button
    -no lean unless using ironsights
    -no prone
    -crouch toggle movement only
    After the initially feeling foreign, shooting with all weapons felt good with the MP40 being my favourite. Pistols are very effective too. Rifles were the hardest to get used but again, once adjusted they were great! I had to reduce my ingame mouse sensitivity right down to be accurate with anything.


    I LOVED THE "TING!" SOUND WHEN YOU GET A HEADSHOT ON A HELMET WEARING AXIS :mrgreen:
    i hope that's in the multiplayer!

    TIP for CoD players!
    double bind your Strafe / Peek Left and Right keys
    ie. A Q & D E
    rebind Use key to F



    bugs

    º the game wouldn't let me use the mosewheelup to select pistol and mousewheel down to grenade cycle
    (i selected these ok in the menu but they wouldn't work ingame)
    º i couldn't select alt-weapon ?





    I'm VERY keen to see the multiplayer in this game. I don't think it will take most people long to adjust to the movement differences compared to other big titles.

    some notes:

    Whiskey's Airborne Multiplayer Preview - Planet Medal of Honor


    :)
     
  9. Chippo

    Chippo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Tweed Coast NSW Australia
    Hi troops,

    Have the COD series & really enjoy the single player campaigns, however COD2 MP has lost my interest, EG: shotguns, Sniper bazooka, surviving lethal wounds, etc.....

    Tried DOD, the guys & game play were fun, but lack of iron sights & movement issues lost me....

    Can't locate a MOH forum here at TOG, so have a few questions re the MOH series....

    1. Are there single player campaigns like the COD series ?

    2. Are the other versions similar to Vanilla & UO ?

    3. Does it stay a WW2 game, or are futuristic weapons added.

    4. Can I drive vehicles / tanks / aircraft etc.

    5. Why isn't there a forum ??
     
  10. Chippo

    Chippo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Tweed Coast NSW Australia
    Disregard my above dribble... :rolleyes:


    Ned I used your link & found.................





    theres a shotty with magnum rounds :bigthumbsdown::bignope:
     
  11. Ned

    Ned Public Forum Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,590
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Qld Australia
    chippo,

    Whiskey's Airborne Multiplayer Preview - Page II - Planet Medal of Honor



    1. yes but they are much older games eg. no ironsight
    imo the early MOHAA series (especially Breakthrough), better than cod sp but not as good as coduo sp

    2. better than vanilla, not as good as uo
    imo, cod:uo is what cod2 should have been

    3. yes, true to WWII
    future add-ons come in the form of mods

    4. no

    5. we don't have the numbers
    i still play MOHAA Breakthrough at times with a small group if you're interested in joining us for a look-see
    nedd3h's gaming world :: View Forum - Medal of Honor


    my explanation does include MOH Pacific Assault which was quite a disappointment in so many ways it brings poor ned to tears
     
  12. Chippo

    Chippo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Tweed Coast NSW Australia
    Thanks for taking the time to reply Ned.

    Have been sussing the homepage demos & they look pretty good & am 60% with download

    Last question, I promise :p

    Besides this new version, what other versions had iron sights ?

    Cheers mate
     
  13. Ned

    Ned Public Forum Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,590
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Qld Australia
    Pacific Assault had ironsights. There's a couple of sp and mp demos out if you want to have a look. It really was a poor game game though mate... sp and mp.

    The best version so far, sp and mp, is MOHAA Breakthrough, the second expansion for MOHAA.
    (but no ironsight)
     
  14. Chippo

    Chippo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Tweed Coast NSW Australia
    WTF is with this demo :bigangry: Been at this since this morning......


    Have a system that meets the minimum requirements, even updated vid / sound drivers as suggested in the readme, playing on default settings & still getting a windowed blank screen CTD :bigcry: no response at all during loading , sometimes it just freezes & other times it continues to CTD :bigthumbsdown:


    It has also set my desktop resolution to 800 x 600 & I can't revert that back now :bigthumbsdown:


    Any thoughts or advice very much appreciated, cause the demo movie looks like something I'd really enjoy :bigevil:
     
  15. Striket

    Striket Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Singapore
    What's your system specs Chippo?
     
  16. Ned

    Ned Public Forum Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,590
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Qld Australia
    Here is a list of fixes for some common issues with the demo.
    Please remeber that this is a new game engine.
    They have already promised and thorough update/patch process.


    Problem: The game will stop installing at the Ageia physics driver phase.
    Fix: Some people have tried reverting to the previous Ageia physics driver and the game has installed fine after that.

    Problem: Windows Vista 64-bit officially not supported.
    Fix: Although it's not supported, many people with this version of Vista are able to install and play the game just fine.

    Problem: The game is speeding up and everything is moving very fast.
    Fix: If you have AMD, try disabling dual cores and/or download the AMD Dual Core Optimizer. Some have also said that uninstalling the Bioshock hotfix will correct the problem as well. Also, update your PC drivers.

    Problem: The point-of-view is spinning and spiraling out of control.
    Fix: This seems to be peripheral-related. Remove any joystick or other USB related device. Try unplugging and replugging in your mouse and keyboard.

    Problem: When the demo is unpacked, your PC will reboot.
    Fix: When extracting the demo you'll see a path which you can't change. Go to that location after the computer has rebooted (you might have to turn the option "show hidden files/maps" on). "MOH Setup" will be temporarily located in a TEMP folder called "RarSFX." It seems that this bug had somthing to do with the change between WinRAR vs. EA installer. --Thx, Calle.

    Problem: During gameplay, screen goes black, audio still playing.
    Fix: Minimize game, check system tray for errors regarding video drivers. If so, go into into nVidia control panel (or ATI equivalent), manage 3d settings, select MOH Airborne, and on multidisplay /mixed-GPU accerelation, set it to single display performance mode.

    Problem: PC will freeze/lock up after a few minutes on Nvidia card users, and/or with dual core processors.
    Fix: Download nhancer and disable dual core. This might help those high end machines that are jamming up. Disabling SLI (tickbox) in the nVidia control panel may help some others.

    Problem: I'm getting a laggy response in-game, and my CPU usage is up near 100%.
    Fix: See if you have any video software suites for a camcorder or other video device. Try to uninstall it. Including, but not limited to: Cyberlink DVD, PowerCinema NE, PowerProducer 3, PowerDirector 5, Digital Photo Navigator 3.0

    Problem: I've tried almost everything and am still getting lag or mouse-lag in-game.
    Fix: Although it sounds simple, take some time to keep unplugging/re-attaching your mouse AND keyboard (especially if it's a Logitech G15). This is causing issues for some users, and removing them, then plugging them in again has fixed the problem for some.
     
  17. Arkon

    Arkon Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,583
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Perth Australia
    I have no trouble running it so far :)
    I think a few of the COD guys we like this one
    I had it playing at the Perth Lan to see what a few thought about it
    and all good :)
    This looks like there best one yet from the demo Ned :)
     
  18. Chippo

    Chippo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Tweed Coast NSW Australia
    It installed a program "AGEIA PhysX", in properties it says "No AGEIA PhysX Processor installed".

    Should I look for updates / delete this program / just leave it alone???
     
  19. Ned

    Ned Public Forum Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,590
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Qld Australia
    the software will be in your add/remove programs
    it's needed to play

    so having probs?
     
  20. ThreeO

    ThreeO Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,931
    Likes Received:
    494
    Location:
    Brisbane
    all ATI cards below X1300 do not support Shader Model 3.0, and will not work with Airborne.
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2007

Share This Page