Medal of Honor: Airbourne (mainly demo chat)

Discussion in 'Shooter Games: The Range' started by Ned, May 19, 2006.

  1. ThreeO

    ThreeO Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,931
    Likes Received:
    494
    Location:
    Brisbane
    SLI and 64 bit issues
    Even though this game is not 64bit or SLI supported which is a let down. And you might overlook the fact that leaving the SLI enabled box checked wont matter. Wrong!! it does. I just figured that if the game does not support SLI I can leave it checked and the game will only recognize 1 card. After playing with every option including running the game on windows 32bit I just disabled SLI in the nvidia control panel. The game runs smooth as hell. 1680x1050 everthing maxed.. The way it's meant to be played! Huwa
    Two things...

    Download nhancer and disable dual core. This might help those high end machines that are jamming up.

    Disable SLI in the nvidia control panel.

    This might help some others.. Cheers

    Winrar Users
    If you have Winrar you can do a "right click" on the file and choose an option of Winrar "extract here" and after you run the file "setup.exe"

    Reducing HUD Size
    Go to My Documents/EA Games/Medal of Honor Airborne Demo/Config/MOHAGame.ini and open it with notepad.

    Scroll a third of the way down until you find

    [MOHAGame.MOHAHUD]
    ResolutionScale_640x480=0.6
    ResolutionScale_800x600=0.65
    ResolutionScale_960x720=0.8
    ResolutionScale_1024x768=0.9
    ResolutionScale_1280x720=1.0
    ResolutionScale_1280x1024=1.1
    ResolutionScale_1600x1200=1.5

    Find the resolution you are using and reduce the number at the end of the line. I am using 1280x1024 and I reduced the number to 0.6 from 1.1. That reduced the hud to about half size. Make your change and save the ini file.
     
  2. ThreeO

    ThreeO Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,931
    Likes Received:
    494
    Location:
    Brisbane
    If anyone wants to have a play with these let me know how it runs.

    MOH: Airborne Realism Mod

    MOH: Airborne Realism Mod - Planet Medal of Honor

    Airborne Demo Upgraded AI Mod


    Airborne Demo Upgraded AI Mod - Planet Medal of Honor

    Airborne Demo Upgrade Mod

    Airborne Demo Upgrade Mod - Planet Medal of Honor

    Prima Husky Walkthrough

    Prima Husky Walkthrough - Planet Medal of Honor


    Sniper Rifle
    One of the forum goers at Total Airborne has discovered how to equip the sniper rifle in the Medal of Honor: Airborne demo. Check it out:

    First, make sure you enable to the developer console. Here's how:

    Developers Console

    1. Right-click the Airborne Demo desktop icon, select Properties

    2. Go to the Shortcut tab, look for the Target: line.

    3. the line will end with: \MOHADemo.exe" (including the " mark). Add a single space after the " , then type in: -enableconsole

    4. The line should now look something like this (first part may be different depending on where you installed it): "C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Medal of Honor Airborne Demo\UnrealEngine3\Binaries\MOHADemo.exe" -enableconsole

    5. Click Apply, the OK.

    6. Start the demo.

    7. Once in gameplay, press the tilde key ( ~ ) to bring up the console.

    Upon landing, use the GHOST command in the console and goto the area where the demo ends. Follow the road till you come to the dead end with the barbwire and in the building right beside it, there is aMG42 in the window of the first floor, you can go up the stairs and find a Springfield sniper rifle laying on the floor with a beam of light shining down upon it. Ghost your way back to playable area and start firing away! Remember to use your "jump" key to hold your breath.

    Totally changes the way that mission can be played.
     
  3. Ned

    Ned Public Forum Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,590
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Qld Australia
    good find 303 :!:
    i'll give them a run soon!
     
  4. Striket

    Striket Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Singapore
    That Springfield sure is sweet!
     
  5. Ned

    Ned Public Forum Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,590
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Qld Australia
    This is now my favourite sniper rifle! Before this, the one from FarCry was my favourite. I love the scope and zoom action and the non-toggle aim setup. I do however think the damage is too high. For singleplayer this is ok but it will be terrible in multiplayer. I was getting kills when I deliberately shot legs.

    I recommend going to the roof tops to test the sniper rifle :)
     
  6. Chippo

    Chippo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Tweed Coast NSW Australia

    Ned, thanks again for the help, but still a no go.....

    Have tried heaps of fixes as shown on EA related sites....

    As for this advice.....

    Problem: PC will freeze/lock up after a few minutes on Nvidia card users, and/or with dual core processors.
    Fix: Download nhancer and disable dual core. This might help those high end machines that are jamming up. Disabling SLI (tickbox) in the nVidia control panel may help some others.


    1. Where do I get Enhancer, where do I install it & what do I look for with it....

    2. Dual core processor....
    Where do I check if it's enabled / disabled :oops: Will it affect other programs if I disable Dual Core ?

    My system (Thanks Striket) is.....

    Intel P4 3.00 GHz
    MB Gigabyte GA-8566TAXM-775
    1 GB ram
    XP Home Edition SP2
    Asus / Leadtek AGP 6600GT card
    400w PS
    Direct X 9.0C

    Cheers lads
     
  7. Striket

    Striket Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Singapore
    1. http://www.nhancer.com/
    2. I think it only effects ingame gfx. You should be able to find that option under the nhancer software.

    I wonder if it's the 1gig of ram that's causing the problem.
     
  8. Ned

    Ned Public Forum Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,590
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Qld Australia
    1. http://www.nhancer.com/
    run the .exe and follow the prompts

    2. highlight moh airborne in maybe the profile area, look for a duel processor option
    disabling it for airborne won't affect other programs
    (i can't be more specific here as i don't have it installed atm)



    edit: beat me by one minute! :)
     
  9. Striket

    Striket Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Singapore
    Lol yeah Ned.
    I tried nhancer but uninstalled it afterwards cause i don't see a need for it.
     
  10. Ned

    Ned Public Forum Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,590
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Qld Australia
    I've just been asked about the lack of a desktop shortcut and not being able to access the sniper rifle because of this.

    If you don't have a desktop icon then go to the demo install and create a shortcut
    ie. right click MOHADemo.exe - Send To - Desktop (create shortcut)
    default location is...
    C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Medal of Honor Airborne Demo\UnrealEngine3\Binaries


    now follow the above instructions in 303's post :)
     
  11. Ned

    Ned Public Forum Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,590
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Qld Australia
    ok you xfire spammers :p
    location of sniper rifle is in screenie
    (oppostie side to rooftop guns)
     

    Attached Files:

  12. N3uRoTiC

    N3uRoTiC Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,668
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Well I like it, I love the way you get upgrades, I love the dual mag and the upgraded reload time ETC, the sniper rifle is really cool too, I like the blured vision when you go to the scope.

    It runs ok on my system i get about 30-40fps, but I hope that'll change when and If I get a new graphics card

    My specs are

    AMD 64 X2 4200
    2GB DDR dual channel
    8600GTS 256mb
    19"widescreen LCD running at 1440x900
    WinXP Pro Sp2

    All settings on high
    AA x4
    AFx4

    Might run a bit better if i dropped the res down a bit, and dropped the settings down, but I wanted to see it in it's full glory, but all up I'm really impressed with the game so far.

    Can't wait for it to be released.:)
     
  13. Ned

    Ned Public Forum Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,590
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Qld Australia
    Here's a list of the awards and updrade paths. I don't know the points system required to get each step but here's what I found so far. Each weapon in the demo has three potential awards with weapon specific upgrades.


    The awards:

    1. Marksman Commendation
    2. Sharpshooter Commendation
    3. Expert Commendation



    Thompson (M1928 Thompson)

    1. Marksman Commendation Award
    -Front Pistol Grip
    -Improved Accuracy

    2. Sharpshooter Commendation Award
    -Cutts Compensator
    -Reduced Recoil

    3. Expert Commendation Award
    -50 Round Drum Mag
    -Ammo Capacity


    Garand (M1 Garand)

    1. Marksman Commendation Award
    -Match Grade Barrel
    -Improved Accuracy

    2. Sharpshooter Commendation Award
    -Lock Bar Adjustable Sights
    -Increased Zoom

    3. Expert Commendation Award
    -M7A1 Grenade Launcher
    -Launch Grenades


    MP40 (Maschinenpistole 40)

    1. Marksman Commendation Award
    -Dual Magazines
    -Faster Reload

    2. Sharpshooter Commendation Award
    -64 Round Magazine
    -Ammo Capacity

    3. Expert Commendation Award
    -Dagger
    -Melee Attack


    K98k (K98k Karabiner Kurtz)

    1. Marksman Commendation Award
    -Polished Match Grade Bolt
    -Rate of Fire

    2. Sharpshooter Commendation Award
    -5 Round Stripper Clip
    -Faster Reload

    3. Expert Commendation Award
    -Grenade Launcher
    -Launch Grenades


    Colt .45 (M1911 Colt .45)

    1. Marksman Commendation Award
    -Leather Holster
    -Fast Draw

    2. Sharpshooter Commendation Award
    -Match Grade Trigger
    -Rate of Fire

    3. Expert Commendation Award
    -Magnum Rounds
    -Increased Damage



    The full pistol upgrade is my favourite!

    :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2007
  14. Striket

    Striket Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Singapore
    I personally love the mp40 with it's dagger attack... i know you can melee with any other weapon but this one is pure lethal!

    Hey N3uRoTiC...you have a 8600GTS 256mb and you're considering a change for it? Omg!
     
  15. Chippo

    Chippo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Tweed Coast NSW Australia
    Hey troops, last post here....:p

    Will wait & read the feedback for the full version & see if my money heads to a new game & a sys upgrade to support it....

    Quoted from the COD forums http://www.theoldergamers.com/forum/call-duty-tactical-centre-private/125978-mohaa-airborne.html

    Have spent much valuable gaming time on this demo as it is.

    So please keep the feedback coming guys, hopefully you'll sort out any dramas with the full version.

    Cheers lads

    PS: Ned, your a legend at helping others, Cheers for the patience mate :)
     
  16. Ned

    Ned Public Forum Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,590
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Qld Australia
    FAQs


    • how can i see my fps without using programs like fraps?

    -enable console (^^ see above)
    -entering stat fps into the console will toggle an fps display on/off


    • how can i alter resolution and graphics options? there's nothing in the main menu

    -you need to fire up the initial setup display .exe
    default location is
    C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Medal of Honor Airborne Demo\UnrealEngine3\Binaries
     
  17. Chippo

    Chippo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Tweed Coast NSW Australia
    YeeeeHaaaa :bigthumbsup:


    Happy Father's Day & Happy Birthday on the same day !!

    Got a 7600 AGP card & 2gb memory & the bloody game finally loads & runs !!


    Settings are on lowest, game is laggy & crappy looking, but I'll work on it cause this demo rocks !!!!!!!!

    :bigevil:
     
  18. Chippo

    Chippo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Tweed Coast NSW Australia
    Hey YZ250
    I reckon it's a bit like DOD mixed with COD Vanilla / UO :D
     
  19. Striket

    Striket Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Singapore
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2007
  20. sas

    sas Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    3,903
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    perth
    It does look good :)
     

Share This Page