PS3: painful lesson learned

Discussion in 'Console Talk (Public)' started by Dragonhammer, Oct 1, 2012.

  1. Dragonhammer

    Dragonhammer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    NEVER! shutdown your PS3 while ingame, this can cause a system hang that is so bad that it does'nt power down.
    When that happens your file system becomes corrupted and in my case it was so badly corrupted that the file restore didn't work and i had to format the PS3 harddrive.
    Result everything gone, save games, game data the whole shebang.
     
  2. Sysmon

    Sysmon World of Warcraft Captain -= SILVER Patreon =-

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,932
    Likes Received:
    842
    Location:
    Earth, for now
    Does that mean that if you lose power you are screwed?

    :D S
     
  3. Sorontar

    Sorontar Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    10,527
    Likes Received:
    516
    Location:
    Melbourne (+10 GMT)
    To quote my wife, "Ouch!". Hopefully now you will be inspired to go back and try some of the games at a harder level, or take a different angle on them, e.g. new class, be evil not good.

    Sorontar
     
    The Omen likes this.
  4. Ancient_One

    Ancient_One Console Manager Captain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    9,199
    Likes Received:
    578
    Location:
    Sydney (Australia)
    I guess this can be a good arguement for Playstation Plus since all the game saves are backed up online. I haven't bought it yet myself still holding out.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2012
  5. Schizo

    Schizo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    5,836
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    The most cursed sports city in the US: Buffalo, NY
    Unfortunately, I've had to do this more times than I can count. Luckily I haven't experienced any file corruption yet.

    Darn buggy Fallout 3...always decides to lock up my system only when I haven't save for an hour or two.
     
  6. LuthienCeleste

    LuthienCeleste Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Spain
    In this age of journaling file systems there is no excuse for that.
    Under no circumstances should the filesystem get corrupt ever from user actions or sudden power interruption. Neither should any game ever lose a save if it were saved in a different file, cache flused and lastly old save deleted.
    Consider PS3 as a partially deffective product

    Is it possible to do backups in an exterior storage?
     
  7. Sysmon

    Sysmon World of Warcraft Captain -= SILVER Patreon =-

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,932
    Likes Received:
    842
    Location:
    Earth, for now
    Maybe the new PS3 will have a more robust file system? Or is it just thinner...

    :D S
     
  8. Ancient_One

    Ancient_One Console Manager Captain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    9,199
    Likes Received:
    578
    Location:
    Sydney (Australia)
    Backup of the game saves is problematic with some content not permitted to be backed up. Protected content save files as an example.

    Backups of the whole system takes hours and hours and hours. I mean really. Hours. Takes just as long to reinstall it as well.

    It's an overnight set and forget type of setup.

    I too have had complete system freezes with the only choice is to disconnect the power. Then the file system becomes corrupt and does a rebuild. Has happened to me say 20 times in the last few years. The worst was when I was playing Fallout 3. That game really had some issues.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2012
  9. OptimusSpine

    OptimusSpine Just Joined

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington, State
    Are there any work-arounds for these issues on the PS3, or other useful hints anyone can recommend?
    I've actually been on trying to figure out whether or not I want a PS3. I mean Blu-Ray, sure, great thing there! But, first off, the cost...and then after all the PSN hacks, and the issues with security, and from what I've read here, I've always been wary. =s
     
  10. Ancient_One

    Ancient_One Console Manager Captain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    9,199
    Likes Received:
    578
    Location:
    Sydney (Australia)
    You don't have to play online, enter credit card details on the account. So security is what you decide to do.

    At least you will have a blueray player, media player, game console all in one.

    So still worth it IMHO.
     
  11. Rob27shred

    Rob27shred Just Joined

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ittsburgh, PA
    Yeah there is a "backup utility" on the PS3 that allows you to backup the contents of your PS3's HD to an external device. I do a backup about once a month to avoid the OP's problem. Also if your PS3 does get shut off in the middle of a game & a screen that says your file system may be corrupted shows up when you restart it just press the circle button & your PS3 will start as normal. You do not have to reformat your HD if you get that screen. More than likely there is no corrupted data cause that screen is just a safety cache. Any corrupted data can be removed by just deleting the offending save or game data from the XMB anyways. The only thing it will effect is the game or save itself, not the PS3 as a whole.
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2013
  12. Rob27shred

    Rob27shred Just Joined

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ittsburgh, PA
    The file system does not always become corrupted from a hard reset of your PS3. The PS3 is made to bring that screen up after any improper shutdown & you can just press the circle button to get out of that screen & in to the XMB. If there is any corrupted saves or game data it will only affect that particular game or save & can be rectified by just deleting that single save or game data file. Also copyright protected data will transfer fine when using the backup utility or data transfer utility. It don't work when you try to transfer it in any other way. Like using a flash stick to transfer a protected save to someone else's PS3. Hopefully this info will save you some time & stress in the future.
     
  13. Alberto cohen

    Alberto cohen Just Joined

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    seriously?? Glad you shared your experience. That would really be scary if it were to happen to me, i'd go crazy. You learned it the hard way, eh?
     

Share This Page