Public Help* - PB kick & Help.

Discussion in 'Shooter Games: The Range' started by Dummy!, Jan 24, 2008.

  1. Dummy!

    Dummy! Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia - Q L D Xfire: dummy90
    G'day to ever reads this.:D

    If you are having problems with Punk Buster on ANY game do these 2 steps and it "should" work we hope.

    1)- Update your PB to the game you play (PunkBuster Online Countermeasures)
    2) If update doesn't help.. Find the Game Folder, E.g: Call of Duty
    and Search for the "pb" file, once you found it, Delete it. Then grab your Installation CD 1 (If has more than 1 cd's) Close the application that it brings up and go to My Computer..And where you see the Game CD's name, Right-Click and go to Explore, find the "pb" folder and copy & past it into your Game Directory.

    In most cases that helps, sometimes not.

    if that doesnt help. PM me or Reply in this Thread and I will help you troubleshoot the problem :)

    (This Helped for me, so I'd thought I'd share it :) )

    Good Luck fragging!
    Dummy!
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2008
    Arkon and Bumbee like this.
  2. Bumbee

    Bumbee Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,674
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Fl Keys, USA
    Great Info there Dummy! +1
     
    Dummy! likes this.
  3. Dummy!

    Dummy! Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia - Q L D Xfire: dummy90
    Thank you :)
     
  4. Dummy!

    Dummy! Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia - Q L D Xfire: dummy90
    Minor Update.

    I've noticed PB tends to play up terribly on the "Older Games"

    like, Call of Duty UO etc etc
    It's mainly because PB no longer supports it apparently lol

    Dummy!
     
  5. Ned

    Ned Public Forum Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,596
    Likes Received:
    290
    Location:
    Qld Australia
    older games sometimes require a manual PB update after a new installation
    COD:UO is still supported (via COD I believe)

    Here is the current supported games list
    PunkBuster Online Countermeasures

    FarCry was removed recently :(
     
  6. Dummy!

    Dummy! Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia - Q L D Xfire: dummy90
    Farcry, Heard of it ..But never played it lol
    Aint it like Crysis in a way?

    PB with Crysis online is crazy however :(
     
  7. Dummy!

    Dummy! Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia - Q L D Xfire: dummy90
    It would be good, if all games use VAC instead of Punkbuster "imo"

    VAC seems better in its ways:)
     
  8. Ned

    Ned Public Forum Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,596
    Likes Received:
    290
    Location:
    Qld Australia
    oh dear, keep going with comments like that and you will stir up the noobs!

    let's just say both are good, neither are perfect
    both are essentail elements on a server if supported by a game


    :)
     
  9. Dummy!

    Dummy! Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia - Q L D Xfire: dummy90
    True true :)
    lol
     
  10. Pte_OMARK

    Pte_OMARK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Geelong, VIC
    whats VAC?
     
  11. Dummy!

    Dummy! Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia - Q L D Xfire: dummy90
    VAC is what Steam use on there Counter Strike Source servers, VAC is on all steam games I think
     
  12. Ned

    Ned Public Forum Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,596
    Likes Received:
    290
    Location:
    Qld Australia
  13. Dummy!

    Dummy! Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia - Q L D Xfire: dummy90
    Thanks ned lol:p
     
  14. Dummy!

    Dummy! Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia - Q L D Xfire: dummy90
    *rant*

    I've just found out UT3 has no Anti Cheat like PB etc etc lol. ( Rather funny in some ways? :))

    Hence, that would explain why hardly there are anyone online in UT3 lol or could be somthing else..Who knows! lol

    Thank god I don't play online a hell of a lot :D

    Thanks Whack for pointing that out ehhehehe :):)
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2008
  15. -X-SeSiV-

    -X-SeSiV- Retired Captain

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Newcastle
    VAC better - I think not :) - there's that can of worms again
     
  16. Dummy!

    Dummy! Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia - Q L D Xfire: dummy90
    Hehehe,

    Every always seems to open them now days:p
     
  17. Ned

    Ned Public Forum Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,596
    Likes Received:
    290
    Location:
    Qld Australia
    No Punkbuster which is a real shame. But there is something in development.
    X-ray Gaming - X-ray Anti-Cheat

    I haven't tested it yet but once my server is back online i'll run it to see how it goes.
     
  18. Dummy!

    Dummy! Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia - Q L D Xfire: dummy90
    Let's hope it's better. God help us all lol
     
  19. Dummy!

    Dummy! Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia - Q L D Xfire: dummy90
    I belive Whack & Arkon putting XAC in motion on there UT3 server :p
     
  20. MissBunny

    MissBunny Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Mackay, QLD
    This sounds promising Ned. I see it supports COD4, would be nice if they decide to support the older versions of COD as well.
     

Share This Page