Steam The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

Discussion in 'Digital Distribution & Mobile Game Applications' started by Nikolaf, Dec 30, 2013.

1. Nikolaf

Nikolaf Active Member

I just purchased Skyrim during the holiday sale on Steam. I'm fairly new to the Steam Workshop.

What mods in the Steam Workshop are worth getting?

2. hadrian6616

hadrian6616 Well-Known Member

I like the milk way galaxy mod and the darkness mod. This makes the nights and dungeons dark. I've also got a snow and water mods. I run 23 mods, including my own tweak. Mostly these are cosmetic, a couple of dungeons.

The best part is workshop files are easy install and easy uninstall so you'll end up trying heaps but only keeping the ones that make skyrim yours.

3. Chief

Chief Retired Captain

For first playthrough I'd just recommend cosmetic stuff mostly but the mods I think you should always grab are No Bloom (Fix Eye Adjusting), SkyUI and Item Sorting.

No Bloom (Fix Eye Adjusting) just removes the horrible effect where looking at something bright then something darker or vice versa causes the brightness to change. It's supposed to simulate the human eye adjusting to brightness but it happens far too often, ie. just looking at the ground then looking ahead causes it. Gets very annoying and just looks bad anyway I reckon.

SkyUI improves menus so they're more size appropriate and slightly less console-ish and Item Sorting just renames various items so that the inventory is in an easier to navigate and more logical order.

If you have a good PC, Open Cities Skyrim is great. It makes it so the inside of cities are part of the main game world rather than loading into a separate level when you enter them. Saves a loading screen but can cause a bit of a performance hit.

Just make sure you read the notes first, some mods require SKSE and other things. I know open cities requires you to not be in a city when you install it otherwise you end up in a void.