Warning - Steam and Prototype

Discussion in 'Digital Distribution & Mobile Game Applications' started by immortaal, Aug 18, 2011.

  1. immortaal

    immortaal Just Joined

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WV, USA
    It is on sale for $10..but a friend tipped me off to the Steam forums, where many, many users stated they had issues where it simply won't run, and as you know, Steam does not refund you for your purchase, adn seeing as this issue is old, as is the game, it is doubtful there will ever be a patch for it.
     
  2. Dalienx

    Dalienx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,963
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Thanks, i was considering buying that..


    was.
     
  3. Jigoku

    Jigoku Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    253
    Location:
    Qld, Australia
    Conversely, I have had no issues with Prototype since day one ...
     
  4. Rage

    Rage Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,638
    Likes Received:
    282
    Location:
    Brisbane
    If you have a controller plugged in, IT WON'T run at all. And without any error report. When I removed my controller, it worked fine.
     
  5. Jigoku

    Jigoku Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    253
    Location:
    Qld, Australia
    Conversely, I have no issues playing using an XBOX360 controller ..

    I do remember now that I did have one issue. When I changed my video card I had to delete my config settings otherwise it would error out. Once I deleted the ini file it worked again.
     
  6. Gorne

    Gorne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Western Sydney, Australia
    I have had this game for a while but I know it will not run properly across the Matrox triplehead2go. It tries to adjust the resolution and then drops back to the desktop. Never have found a solution. I doubt it has anything to do with the matrox but maybe strange resolutions upset it.
     
  7. Biohazard

    Biohazard Guest

    .
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 4, 2012
  8. Avoozl

    Avoozl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    stuck in the middle with you
    I've had it for a long while on steam without issue. :)
     
  9. delushin

    delushin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    54
    When things like this happen to me I like to turn down the dial a little ...

    Dim the lights;

    Put on some smooth music;

    Pour a drink;

    Load up steam;

    And click the game gently ... have you tried this?
     
    SJ777 likes this.
  10. Reoh

    Reoh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    861
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    When I know my pc's having trouble, I rub it gently on the side. In a soothing voice I give it encouraging thoughts.

    I shit you not, it works.
     
  11. immortaal

    immortaal Just Joined

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WV, USA
    Hmm, for $10, I think this is worth it, thank you good sir!
     
  12. rubicon

    rubicon Retired Captain

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3,230
    Likes Received:
    345
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Works fine for me.

    I think I prefer Darksiders though.
     
  13. Justin Kace

    Justin Kace Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    New Plymouth, New Zealand
    That's a shame, it's a lot of fun this game!
     
  14. ViperX

    ViperX Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Auckland
    I like the control, it reminds me greatly of DCUO and plays almost identically. The one thing that puts me off is that the graphics are still very average. For those with sound issues, I usually run HD sound but this game requires you to run at a lower quality so you don't follow cutscenes at "The Flash" type speed. DVD Quality is usually about the best you can expect to run cutscenes normally.
     

Share This Page