Wii Console

Discussion in 'Hardware Talk' started by Midnight74, Jan 15, 2009.

  1. Midnight74

    Midnight74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Wangaratta Vic Australia
    Just wondering if anyone has a Wii that has been modded, if so what sort of mod is it
     
  2. Leevers

    Leevers Guest

    probably best asking in the lounge midnight, you'll probably find more people with a wii :)
     
  3. BattleScoob

    BattleScoob Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    14,100
    Likes Received:
    630
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Actually,

    We have a Console Division including the Wii. Who would have thought eh?

    Head down there and ask mate.

    Linky.
     
  4. Vulcan21

    Vulcan21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    6,502
    Likes Received:
    480
    Location:
    Devonport, Tasmania
  5. Midnight74

    Midnight74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Wangaratta Vic Australia
    nah vulcan, we want to mod it because my sisters son is bad with the discs, so we can make backups of them
     
  6. Vulcan21

    Vulcan21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    6,502
    Likes Received:
    480
    Location:
    Devonport, Tasmania
    You'll need a mod chip to play even backups as I understand it mate. I could be wrong though.

    I'm going to move this thread into the console divsion so you can get a correct answer. I'll leave a re-direct.
     
  7. Kiz

    Kiz Retired Captain

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    238
  8. Midnight74

    Midnight74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Wangaratta Vic Australia
    its not my Wii, just wondering about a mod chip or something like that to use backup games.
     
  9. GuMbo_AU

    GuMbo_AU Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    My Wii has the WiiKey installed in it (not that I would ever pirate games).....:rolleyes:

    There are different chips you need to use depending on what hardware revision of the Wii you brought. If you take the Wii to a mod shop they can identify which mod chip is required and instal it for you...
     
  10. Firthy

    Firthy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    2,132
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Melbourne - W/Subs
    You dont need a mod chip to play backups, or rip your own bought games. Keep in mind Im not too sure of the total game compatibilities yet of the homebrew loader compared to a chipped Wii.

    I have homebrew software installed on my un-chipped Wii which does both of those things. The links in my homebrew thread here: http://www.theoldergamers.com/forum.../221719-wii-homebrew-channel.html#post2226473
    should lead you to all the information you need. Its not for the real faint-hearted though, but didnt take me too long to get my stupid head around it :) Good Luck whichever way you go :)
     

Share This Page